_x000D_ _x000D_ _x000D_
» «

Naval Academy Announces Major Athletic Award Winners

May 27, 2005






ANNAPOLIS, Md. - The United States Naval Academy announced its major athletic award winners Thursday afternoon at the annual prizes and awards ceremony at Alumni Hall.

Matt Albright (Shelton, Conn.) was named the winner of the NAAA Sword for Men, presented to that man of the graduating class who is considered by the Association's Athletic Council to have personally excelled in men's athletics during his years of varsity competition.

Albright won four varsity letters and four N-Stars as a member of the rifle team. He is a three-time First-Team All-American and holds the school record in both the small bore and air rifle. He led Navy to eight wins over Army in his four years and guided the team to four NCAA Championship appearances. Albright was an individual NCAA finalist is finalist three years. He finished 14th in the 2004 Olympic Trials and is a member of the U.S. National Developmental Team.

Albright is the first member of the rifle team to win the award, which was established in 1893.

Tineisha Davis (Madisonville, Ky.) was awarded the Vice Admiral Lawrence Sword for Women, which is presented to that woman of the graduating class who is considered by the Association's Athletic Council to have personally excelled in women's athletics during her years of varsity competition.

Davis won eight varsity letters in indoor and outdoor track and is the school record holder in 11 different events. Davis, who also holds six Patriot League records, was voted the Patriot League Athlete of the Meet in 2004 (indoor) and 2005 (outdoor). She leaves Annapolis with the most wins of any female track & field athlete in school history, including victories in all 24 races she ran against Army in head-to-competition throughout her career. Davis has been nationally ranked in the top 25 over the past two years in the 400 meters and finished the indoor season this year ranked ninth in the country in the 500 meters.

Davis is the ninth women's track & field athlete to win the award, established in 1980, and the first since Chantelle Nagbe in 2000.

Aaron Polanco (Wimberley, Texas) was awarded the Thompson Trophy Cup, which is presented to that midshipman, male or female, who has done the most during the year to promote athletics at the Naval Academy.

Polanco had one of the greatest seasons for a quarterback in Navy history, leading the Midshipmen to a 10-2 record, a second-straight Commander's-In-Chief Trophy, a victory over New Mexico in the Emerald Bowl and a final ranking of 24th in the country. The 10 wins this fall equalled the school record for wins, which was set in 1905.

Polanco, who led the nation in rushing touchdowns among quarterbacks in 2004 with 16, broke six school records in his career and helped engineer the longest drive in NCAA history (26 plays, 94 yards, 14:26) in Navy's 34-19 Emerald Bowl win.

Polanco is the 78th football player to win the award, which was established in 1894, and the first since Craig Candeto in 2003 (Candeto won it as a junior).

Ralph Lufkin (Basking Ridge, N.J.) was awarded the men's Coaches' Calvert Award, presented to that man in the graduating class who has persevered the most in his career.

Lufkin, who steadily improved throughout his career, earned eight varsity letters as a member of the track & field team. He was a three-time regional qualifier in the hammer throw and was an NCAA indoor provisional qualifier in the weight throw as a senior. Lufkin was the 2005 Patriot League Indoor Championship Field Athlete of the Meet as he helped lead the Midshipmen to the indoor track & field title.

Lufkin is the fourth member of the track & field team to win the award, which started in 1973, and is the first since Tim Limbert in 1998.

Emma Hagen (Winter Garden, Fla.) was awarded the women's Coaches' Calvert Award, presented to that woman in the graduating class who has persevered the most in her career.

Hagen was named to the 2004 ESPN The Magazine Third-Team Academic All-America squad last fall by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). Hagen, who qualified for the national ballot after being named to the District II first team for the second-straight year, was a four-year member of the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll and is just the seventh Naval Academy women's soccer player to earn honor roll status all four years.

A four-year starter for the Midshipmen, Hagen and the Navy defense held its opponents to a league-low 1.04 goals against last fall, the fourth-lowest GAA in the program's history. The Mids finished the year ranked second in shutouts with seven, the fifth most in school history.

She is the second women's soccer player to win the award, which started in 1970. Quinn Rinehart won the award last year.

Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities