NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics
» «

Sports Medicine

Under the direction of Associate Athletic Director for Sports Medicine Adam Pecina, MEd, ATC, and under the supervision of team physicians and orthopedic surgeons, the staff athletic trainers at the United States Naval Academy are committed to providing and facilitating the health care of the student-athletes. The staff collaborates with these and other medical providers, team coaches, and staff to optimize the physical performance of the student-athletes.

The profession of Athletic Training encompasses the prevention, diagnosis, and intervention of emergency, acute, and chronic medical conditions. The staff athletic trainers at the United States Naval Academy are health care professionals who hold Bachelor's and Master's degrees, are certified by a national board, the Board of Certification for the Athletic Trainer, and are licensed by the State of Maryland's Board of Physician's Department of Health and Mental Hygiene.

There are four principal athletic training rooms and six satellite facilities at the disposal of the Naval Academy staff. In addition, there are several fully staffed medical clinics on the grounds of the Naval Academy, including orthopedic, dental, physical therapy, optometry and general medical clinics.

Visiting team athletic training services: For most competitions the sideline set-up will consist of coolers of water, chests of injury ice, sleeves of cups, and emergency care supplies. For additional sport specific information, please contact the athletic trainer listed below for the respective sport.

Athletic Training Staff
Name Title Sports Office Phone Email
Adam Pecina, MEd, ATC Associate A.D. for Sports Medicine M. Basketball 410-293-8717 pecina@usna.edu
Jim Berry, MA, ATC Asst. A.D. for Sports Medicine Head Football 410-293-8726 jberry@usna.edu
Dee Jones, MS, ATC Asst. A.D. for Sports Medicine & Rehabilitation Football 410-293-8718 djones@usna.edu
Gretchen Benz, MEd, ATC Athletic Trainer Baseball, M. Soccer 410-293-5584 benz@usna.edu
Gregg Calhoon, MS, ATC Athletic Trainer W. Basketball, W. Soccer 410-293-3150 calhoon@usna.edu
Joe English, MS, ATC Athletic Trainer Boxing, Club Sports, Rowing, M. Tennis 410-293-4486 jenglish@usna.edu
Matt Ludwig, MS, ATC Athletic Trainer Football, M. Lacrosse 410-293-8726 ludwig@usna.edu
Loren Shipley, MS, ATC Athletic Trainer W. Lacrosse, Sprint Football 410-293-4487 shipley@usna.edu
Erin Variano, MS, ATC Athletic Trainer Football, Swimming, Wrestling 410-293-8718 variano@usna.edu
For athletic training information regarding the following sports, please contact Gretchen Benz to be referred to the appropriate team athletic trainer: Golf, Gymnastics, Hockey, Rugby, Squash, Swimming & Diving, Tennis (Women's), Volleyball, and Water Polo.

2016-17 Athletic Training Intern Staff
Name Office Phone Email
Kori Armour 410-293-4483 armour@usna.edu
Emily Boyer 410-293-5598 eboyer@usna.edu
Josh Haefner 410-293-4486 haefner@usna.edu
Tegan Hinaman 410-293-4486 hinaman@usna.edu
Leah Kroeger 410-293-4519 kroeger@usna.edu
Brad Sammut 410-293-4486 sammut@usna.edu
Aubrie Stouffer 410-293-4483 stouffer@usna.edu
Brynja Winnan 410-293-8718 winnan@usna.edu
Team Physicians & Consultants
Name Position      
John Wilckens, M.D. Orthopedic Surgeon      
Lance LeClere, M.D. Orthopedic Surgeon      
Scott Pyne, M.D. Team Physician      
Robert A. Waltz, MD Orthopedic Surgeon      
Jessica Mohler, Psy. D. Clinical Sports Psychologist      
Edward McDevitt, M.D. Orthopedic Surgeon      

Please click HERE for travel, hotel and game day information.


Navy's Athletic
Training Facilities

Glenn Warner Training Room

Glenn Warner Soccer Facility
Soccer

Hasley Field House Training Room

Halsey Field House
Basketball, Squash

Rickets Hall Training Room

Ricketts Hall
Football, Rifle

Wesley Brown Field House Training Room

Wesley Brown Field House
Cross Country, W. Lacrosse, Sailing, Sprint Football, Track & Field, Volleyball

Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities