NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy IC Sailing Finishes Third at the Farrarone Team Race
» «

Navy IC Sailing Finishes Third at the Farrarone Team Race

Navy intercollegiate sailing competed in three regattas last weekend.

April 4, 2012

BRISTOL, R.I. -- It was a busy weekend on the road for the Navy intercollegiate sailing team, as the squad competed in three challenging New England regattas.

The farthest journey was to Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I., for the Farrarone Team Race. This event is the final tune-up for Navy's top team racers before next weekend's conference championship at St. Mary's and the team got a lot of good racing in to help prepare. Despite cold weather and fickle winds, 20 races were sailed over the weekend and Navy finished with an 11-9 record, good enough for third overall in the eight-team event. Jason Carminati, Devin Laviano and Michael Grove served as skippers with Caroline Lockett, Julie Digiovanni, Chelsea Smith and Glenn McKenna as crews.

On the other side of Narragansett Bay, a group of Navy's women were competing for the Dellenbaugh Trophy, hosted by Brown University. In a very-deep fleet, Navy remained in contention throughout the first day, but slipped a bit on Sunday to finish 12th overall in the 17-team event. Mary Hall, Layne Morrison and Erica Leinmiller came in eighth in A division while Marissa Lihan and Emma Ferris were 12th in B.

Sailing just a little bit closer to home, a third Navy team competed in the Southern New England Team Race at Connecticut College. While Navy finished 10th overall out of 12 teams, some of the young sailors gained some valuable experience that will surely pay off for the team in the future. Lukas Edegran, Taylor Vann, Markus Edegran and Alex Ramos skippered, with Saverio Maldari, Jocelynn Knudsen, Alex Asuncion, Julie Miller and Charlie Peck as crew.



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities