NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Prieto wins the MAISA Men's Singlehanded Championship
» «

Prieto wins the MAISA Men's Singlehanded Championship

Gary Prieto
Oct. 8, 2017

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - Navy senior Gary Prieto won the Carl Van Duyne MAISA Men's Singlehanded Championship to highlight the Navy intercollegiate sailing team’s three-regatta schedule this weekend.

The Carl Van Duyne MAISA Men's Singlehanded Championship was hosted by the Merchant Marine Academy and was a national championship-qualifier. The top 18 men from around the conference had qualified to square off for the conference title and four spots at the nationals. Three Midshipmen were in the field, the most of any school.

When the competitors arrived, fog and light winds forced a delay and the fleet was held on shore for a bit. The fog cleared and racing began in a light Northerly breeze. Two races were completed in the northerly before it died and the fleet came in for another postponement. A southerly filled quickly, though and racing got back underway. The wind started out light and steadily built throughout the first day.

Prieto and Connor Bayless started strong and were consistently at the top of the fleet during the light air. As the wind increased, Prieto kept up the strong scoreline while Bayless faded a bit and Max Guerriero started to climb the leaderboard after a rough start. By the end of the first day, Prieto had a 15-point lead on the fleet while Guerriero stood in fourth and Bayless was just on the outside in sixth overall.

The wind was up again on Sunday and the fleet became very tight heading into the final deciding race. Bayless had fallen behind a bit and ended up 10th overall. Guerriero emerged from the battle in tact and is headed to nationals after placing in fourth. Prieto had extended his lead and was crowned the 2017 Carl Van Duyne MAISA Singlehanded Champion.



Prieto and Guerriero will compete in St. Petersburg, Fla. from November 4-5 at the ICSA Men's Singlehanded National Championship for the Glenn S. Foster Trophy.

At home this weekend, Navy hosted the inaugural Jen Harris Memorial Women's Regatta. Harris ('00) was a member of the Navy Sailing Team.

“After graduating, she became a Marine Aviator,” said Navy head coach Ian Burman. “Unfortunately, Jen made the ultimate sacrifice in 2007 when her helicopter was shot down over Afghanistan, but we are honored to mark the 10-year anniversary this year by dedicating the event in her honor. The regatta featured 17 of the top women's teams from all over the country. The conditions were great and the racing was tight. I think Jen would have been proud of the event.”

Navy wound up 11th overall. Jessica McJones, Holly Koerwer and Anna Cutler finished eighth in A division, Kelly Milliken and Emma Remis came in 12th in B, while Brittney Slook was 12th in C.

Navy also competed in the David Lee Arnoff Interconference Regatta hosted by Hobart and William Smith Colleges. Navy wound up third overall out of 13 teams. Peter Hogan, Ana Mier and Sean Linden finished fourth in A division while Max Brill, Karma Richards and Bart Winn were second in B.

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities