NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy to Host the Women's Intercollegiate Sailing National Championship
» «

Navy to Host the Women's Intercollegiate Sailing National Championship

Navy intercollegiate sailing

May 23, 2014

Championship Central | Twitter Updates

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - The U.S. Naval Academy will be hosting the ICSA / Sperry Top-Sider Women's National Championship from May 27 to May 30. The women's intercollegiate sailing national championship will consist of a semifinal round on Tuesday and Wednesday and a final round on Thursday and Friday.

The first warning on each day will be at 9:30 AM and the race course will be either on the Severn River off the Robert Crown Sailing Center or off Triton Point, depending on the wind. There will be bleacher seating off Triton Point and plenty of viewing space off the sailing center.

"It's very exciting to be hosting this regatta and we are excited to show off our facilities and what we have accomplished here," said head coach Ian Burman. "The Naval Academy is a special place and sailing is an important part of our history."

The Navy women's team enters the national championship ranked fourth in the latest Sailing World's Top 15 Women's Poll, which was released on April 23. Navy will be looking to improve on its performance from the last three women's national championships. Navy finished 13th at the national championship in 2013 and 2011 and was seventh in 2012.

"We have a really strong and deep team of women this year," said Burman. "They work well together and we have very strong leadership on this team. We have as good as a chance as anyone to win this."

Navy has won the women's national championship six times, with the last coming in 1997. Navy also won in 1991, 1983, 1981, 1980 and 1979.

There will be 28 teams competing for the Gerald C. Miller Trophy and the right to call themselves national champions. There will be two 14-team semifinals on Tuesday and Wednesday and the top nine teams from each bracket will advance to the 18-team final on Thursday and Friday. Teams will be racing in Collegiate Dinghy Z420s and Collegiate Dinghy FJs.



Fourth-ranked Navy will compete in the Western Bracket semifinal with #1 Yale, #2 Dartmouth (the defending champion), #5 Charleston, #9 Coast Guard, #13 Bowdoin, #15 Cornell, Fordham, Hawaii, Western Washington, South Florida, Texas A&M, Wisconsin and Iowa.

The 14-team Eastern Bracket semifinal will consist of #3 Boston College, #6 Georgetown, #7 Stanford, #8 Rhode Island, #10 Brown, #11 MIT, #12 Old Dominion, #14 Eckerd, William Smith, UC Santa Barbara, British Columbia, UNC Wilmington, Texas A&M Galveston and Minnesota.

Fans without Department of Defense credentials will not be able to drive their vehicles onto U.S. Naval Academy grounds. Fans are encouraged to park in downtown Annapolis and enter through the visitor entrance at Gate One.

Navy will also be competing in the ICSA Team Race Nationals from May 31 to June 2 and the ICSA Coed Dingy Nationals from June 3 to June 6. Both of those national championships will be contested in St. Mary's City, Maryland.

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities