NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Luke Gillingham Named A Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalist
» «

Luke Gillingham Named A Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalist

Luke Gillingham is one of 35 nominees for the Dick Howser Trophy
May 15, 2015

DALLAS - Junior Luke Gillingham (Coronado, Calif.) was one of 35 players announced by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association as a semifinalist for the 2015 Dick Howser Trophy. The award is given to the top player in collegiate baseball and is based upon two rounds of national voting.

This is the 29th year of the Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Wednesday, June 10 before The 2015 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, home of the College World Series. The winner will be unveiled on MLB Network on Friday, June 12 and then a press conference with the winner will be held on Saturday, June 13 at 10 a.m. (CDT), the opening day of the 2015 CWS.

The Dick Howser Trophy is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. The trophy is given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

The 35 candidates hail from 14 different conferences and 27 different schools. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with eight semifinalists, followed by the Atlantic Coast and Big Ten with four, Big 12 and Ohio Valley with three, Missouri Valley, Mountain West and Pac 12 with two and American, Atlantic Sun, Colonial, Patriot and the SWAC with one each. Every position on the diamond is represented, including 10 starting pitchers, four second basemen, four outfielders, four third basemen, four first baseman, three catchers, three relief pitchers and one shortstop, one designated hitter and one utility player, among this diversified group.

This spring, Gillingham has anchored the Mids' weekend rotation as he has put together one of the nation's most imposing statlines after nearly three months of baseball. Through 12 starts, the California native has posted an 8-1 record with 1.19 ERA and 0.70 WHIP over 83.1 innings. While his win total ranks 35th in the nation, his ERA fifth and his WHIP second, Gillingham is making a name for himself as the college baseball's premier strikeout pitcher with 111 punch-outs. He led the nation over the first 12 weeks before an off-weekend with no baseball allowed the pack to catch up and surpass him. Gillingham currently is seventh in the nation. He's the only pitcher with over 100 strikeouts and less than 13 starts.



All-time, Gillingham currently sits fourth in Navy's single-season strikeout rankings. In the history of Navy, only six pitchers have ever notched 100 strikeouts in a year. He's three away from passing Mitch Harris' 2006 total and nine away from surpassing the current St. Louis Cardinal reliever's 2007 mark of 119. Chuck Davis is the all-time Mids' single-season leader with 140 punch-outs in 1960.

Gillingham, the 2015 Patriot League Pitcher of the Year, is currently under consideration for the Golden Spikes Award and National Pitcher of the Year, in addition to the Dick Howser Trophy.

Last year, University of Kentucky's two-way star, A.J. Reed, took home the Dick Howser award, joining a group of recent winners that includes Kris Bryant (2013), Mike Zunino (2012), Taylor Jungmann (2011), Anthony Rendon (2010), Stephen Strasburg (2009) and Buster Posey (2008).

A complete list of the 35 players named as 2015 Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalists is as follows:

Pos. Name, School

Harrison Bader, OF, Florida             

Matt Beay, 3B, Belmont                   

Carmen Benedetti, DH, Michigan    

Andrew Benintendi, OF, Arkansas   

David Berg, RP, UCLA 

Austin Byler, 1B, Nevada                

Taylor Clarke, SP, Col. of Charleston  

Will Craig, 1B, Wake Forest             

Carson Cross, SP, UConn                

Bobby Dalbec, UTL, Arizona          

Paul DeJong, 2B, Illinois State         

Donnie Dewees, OF, North Florida

Kevin Duchene, SP, Illinois.            

Riley Ferrell, RP, TCU  

Michael Freeman, SP, Oklahoma State                

Carson Fulmer, SP, Vanderbilt         

Luke Gillingham, SP, Navy

Charley Gould, 1B, William & Mary

Logan Gray, 3B, Austin Peay           

Ryan Howell, 2B, Nevada               

Tyler Jay, RP, Illinois    

Kevin Kaczmarski, OF, Evansville  

Alex Lange, SP, LSU    

Grayson Long, SP, Texas A&M

Nate Mondou, 2B, Wake Forest       

Preston Morrison, SP, TCU              

Chris Robinson, C, Morehead State 

Melvin Rodriguez, 2B, Jackson State                  

Kade Scivicque, C, LSU

Mike Shawaryn, SP, Maryland         

Dansby Swanson, SS, Vanderbilt

Matt Thaiss, C, Virginia                   

David Thompson, 3B     Miami        

Zander Wiel, 1B, Vanderbilt            

Carl Wise, 3B, College of Charleston                  

About the Dick Howser Trophy

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death.  Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010; Taylor Jungmann, P, Texas, 2011; Mike Zunino, C, Florida, 2012; Kris Bryant, 3B, San Diego, 2013; A.J. Reed, P/1B, Kentucky, 2014.

About the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities