NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Four Navy Football Players Named To Phil Steele's 2014 Preseason All-Independent First Team
» «

Four Navy Football Players Named To Phil Steele's 2014 Preseason All-Independent First Team

Bradyn Heap and Keenan Reynolds

June 10, 2014

ANNAPOLIS, Md.—Senior offensive tackle Bradyn Heap, senior outside linebacker Chris Johnson, senior safety Parrish Gaines and senior punter Pablo Beltran have been named to the Phil Steele 2014 Preseason All-Independent First Team.

Heap was the only Navy player selected to the offensive first team after being named All-East and First Team FBS All-Independent honors last fall. Heap started all 13 games last year at tackle and helped Navy finish second in the country in rushing offense (325.4 yards per game).

Johnson started all 13 games last year at outside linebacker and earned Honorable Mention FBS All-Independent honors. His 84 tackles a year ago was third best on the team and he tied for the team lead in interceptions with three.

Gaines started all 13 games last fall, starting six games at cornerback and seven at safety. He garnered First-Team FBS All-Independent honors as he finished fourth on the team in tackles with 65 and tied for the team high in interceptions with three. Gaines has started 31-consecutive games dating back to his freshman year.

Beltran was an Honorable Mention FBS All-Independent selection last fall after averaging 41.4 yards per punt on 40 punts last year. Twelve of his 40 punts were downed inside the opponent 20-yard line. Beltran’s career punting average of 40.8 ranks third all-time at Navy.

Junior quarterback Keenan Reynolds, senior guard Jake Zuzek, junior nose guard Bernard Sarra, senior linebacker Jordan Drake, sophomore corner Brendon Clements and junior kicker Nick Sloan were all named to the second team.

Navy kicks off the 2014 campaign on August 30th against Ohio State at Baltimore’s M&T Bank Stadium. Season tickets are still available by calling 1-800-US4-NAVY or logging on to

Phil Steele’s 2014 Preseason All-Independent Team
QB Taysom Hill (BYU)
RB Jamaal Williams (BYU)
RB Terry Baggett (Army)
WR DaVaris Daniels (Notre Dame)
WR Devon Blackmon (BYU)
TE Ben Koyack (Notre Dame)
OL Nick Martin (Notre Dame)
OL Stephen Shumaker (Army)
OL Steve Elmer (Notre Dame)
OL Bradyn Heap (Navy)
OL Ronnie Stanley (Notre Dame)

DL Sheldon Day (Notre Dame)
DL Jarron Jones (Notre Dame)
DL Remington Peck (BYU)
LB Jaylon Smith (Notre Dame)
LB Bronson Kaufusi (BYU)
LB Chris Johnson (Navy)
LB Alani Fua (BYU)
CB KeiVarae Russell (Notre Dame)
CB Robertson Daniel (BYU)
S Craig Bills (BYU)
S Parrish Gaines (Navy)

K Kyle Brindza (Notre Dame)
P Pablo Beltran (Navy)
Ret Adam Hine (BYU)



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities