NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy Sophomore Quarterback Keenan Reynolds On The 2013 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List
» «

Navy Sophomore Quarterback Keenan Reynolds On The 2013 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List

Keenan Reynolds


Navy sophomore quarterback Keenan Reynolds is one of 34 quarterbacks on the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List announced today by the Davey O’Brien Foundation.


This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2013 college football season.  


The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner, Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M) and 2012 finalist Braxton Miller (Ohio State) join five 2012 semifinalists on the Watch List: Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Teddy Bridgewater (Louisville), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), AJ McCarron (Alabama) and Aaron Murray (Georgia).


Reynolds started the final eight games as a freshman in 2012 and led the Mids to a 6-2 record in his eight starts and was responsible for three fourth-quarter comebacks (Air Force, Indiana and Army).  He was just the third freshman in program history to start at quarterback and the first since 1991.


Reynolds was named the Independent Rookie of the Year by the nationwide media panel responsible for the FBS Indpendent Player of the Week awards.  He anchored an offensive unit that finished the year ranked sixth nationally in rushing offense, averaging 278.46 yards per game.


 He accounted for 19 TDs on the year (nine passing, 10 rushing) and finished his freshman campaign with 649 yards rushing and 10 touchdowns on 162 carries, while completing 61 of his 108 pass attempts for 898 yards with nine touchdowns and just two interceptions.


Reynolds had at least one rushing touchdown in five of his eight starts and threw at least one touchdown pass in five of his eight starts.  He was the first Navy quarterback to win his first four career starts since senior Bob Powers, who won his first six career starts in 1979.


Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 4. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 25. The 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12.


The 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.




2013 Davey O'Brien Watch List 

David Ash, Texas, Big 12

Blake, Bortles, UCF, AAC

Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, AAC

Terrance Broadway, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sun Belt

Kolton Browning, ULM, Sun Belt

Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC

Rakeem Cato, Marshall, C-USA

Cody Fajardo, Nevada, MWC

David Fales, San Jose State, MWC

James Franklin, Missouri, SEC

Devin Gardner, Michigan, Big Ten

Kevin Hogan, Stanford, Pac-12

Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, MWC

Taylor Kelly, Arizona State, Pac-12

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois, MAC

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC

Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten

AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC

Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten

Stephen Morris, Miami (FL), ACC

Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

Casey Pachall, TCU, Big 12

Keith Price, Washington, Pac-12

Bryn Renner, North Carolina, ACC

Keenan Reynolds, Navy, Independent

Tyler Russell, Mississippi State, SEC

Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC

Tyler Tettleton, Ohio, MAC

Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech, ACC

Bo Wallace, Ole Miss, SEC

Keith Wenning, Ball State, MAC


By conference: SEC (7), Pac-12 (5), ACC (4), Mountain West (4), Big Ten (3), Mid-American (3), American Athletic (2), Big 12 (2), Sun Belt (2), Independents (1), Conference USA (1).


About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Awardis presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $890,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities