NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Sophomore Punter Pablo Beltran Named Candidate For The Ray Guy Award
» «

Sophomore Punter Pablo Beltran Named Candidate For The Ray Guy Award

Pablo Beltran

Oct. 29, 2012

Augusta, GA- The Augusta Sports Council has announced the nominees for the 2012 Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter. Among the candidates is Navy sophomore punter Pablo Beltran.

Beltran is off to a great start to the season, averaging 45.1 yards per punt on his 25 punts.  He kicked a career-long punt of 63 yards against Notre Dame in the season-opener.  Twelve of Beltran’s 25 punts have been fair caught and nine have been downed inside the 20.  He has seven punts this year of 50 yards or more.  He would stand 12th in the country in punting if he had enough punts to qualify, while Navy is 20th in the country in net punting (40.0).  The school record for single-season punting average (min. of 30 punts) is 44.8 set by John Skaggs in 2001.

Beltran is averaging 40.6 yards per punt on 60 punts over his career (2,438 yards), which is tied for fourth all-time at Navy.  The school record for career punting average (min. of 50 punts) is 42.5 by John Skaggs (2000-03).

He was named the FBS Independent Special Teams Player of the Week on Oct. 1 after punting five times for a 49.2 yard average against San Jose State. He had consecutive punts of 57, 55 and 53 against the Spartans in the second quarter.
The list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists to be announced on November 9. Following the semi-finalists announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the top three finalists, who will be identified on November 19.  The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner.

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, December 6 at 7:30 pm ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney’s Spirit Award, The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award, and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

2012 Ray Guy Award Candidates

    David Baska (Jr.), Air Force
    Kyle Dugandzic (Sr.), Arizona
    Josh Hubner (Sr.), Arizona State
    Dylan Breeding (Sr.), Arkansas
    Steven Clark (Jr.), Auburn
    Scott Kovanda (Sr.), Ball State
    Spencer Roth (So.), Baylor
    Brian Schmiedebusch (Jr.), Bowling Green
    Riley Stephenson (Sr.), BYU
    Patrick O’Donnell (Jr.), Cincinnati
    Darragh O’Neill (So.), Colorado
    Pete Kontodaikos (Sr.), Colorado State
    Cole Wagner (Jr.), Connecticut
    Will Monday (Fr.), Duke
    Jay Karutz (Sr.), Eastern Michigan
    Kyle Christy (So.), Florida
    Cason Beatty (Fr.), Florida State
    Andrew Shapiro (Sr.), Fresno State
    Sean Poole (Jr.), Georgia Tech
    Richie Leone (Jr.), Houston
    Bobby Cowan (Sr.) Idaho
    Kirby Van Der Kamp (Jr.), Iowa State
    Ryan Doerr (So.), Kansas State
    Landon Foster (Fr.), Kentucky
    Brett Baer (Sr.), Louisiana
    Ryan Allen (Sr.), Louisiana Tech
    Brad Wing (So.), LSU
    Tyler Williams (Fr.), Marshall
    Tom Hornsey (Jr.), Memphis
    Dalton Botts (Sr.), Miami
    Will Hagerup (Jr.), Michigan
    Mike Sadler (So.), Michigan State
    Baker Swedenburg (Jr.), Mississippi State
    Trey Barrow (Sr.), Missouri
    Pablo Beltran (So.), Navy
    Brett Maher (Sr.), Nebraska
    Cayle Chapman-Brown (Jr.), New Mexico State
    Thomas Hibbard (So.), North Carolina
    Ryan Neir (Sr.), Northern Illinois
    Brandon Williams (Jr.), Northwestern
    Ben Turk (Sr.), Notre Dame
    Ben Buchanan (Sr.), Ohio State
    Tress Way (Sr.), Oklahoma
    Quinn Sharp (Sr.), Oklahoma State
    Keith Kostol (So.), Oregon State
    Matt Yoklic (Jr.), Pittsburgh
    Cody Webster (Jr.), Purdue
    Harrison Waid (Jr.), San Jose State
    Peter Boehme (Sr.), Southern Mississippi
    Ethan Perry (Fr.), TCU
    Brandon McManus (Sr.), Temple
    Alex King (Sr.), Texas
    Ryan Epperson (Sr.), Texas A&M
    Ryan Erxleben (Jr.), Texas Tech
    Vince Penza (Jr.), Toledo
    Will Scott (Jr.), Troy
    Cole Way (So.), Tulsa
    Hunter Mullins (So.), UAB
    Jamie Boyle (Sr.), UCF
    Jeff Locke (Sr.), UCLA
    Chase Lansford (Sr.), UNLV
    Sean Sellwood (Sr.), Utah
    Tyler Bennett (Sr.), Utah State
    Ian Campbell (Sr.), UTEP
    Richard Kent (Sr.), Vanderbilt
    Alec Vozenilek (So.), Virginia
    Hendrix Brakefield (Jr.), Western Kentucky
    J. Schroeder (Fr.), Western Michigan
    Drew Meyer (Fr.), Wisconsin

Ray Guy Award
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

Augusta Sports Council
The Augusta Sports Council (ASC), a non-profit organization which strengthens the quality of life and economic well-being of the city of Augusta by recruiting, supporting and attracting sporting events. To learn more, visit

National College Football Awards Association
The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities