NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Andrew Faulk Named Nissen-Emery Award Finalist
» «

Andrew Faulk Named Nissen-Emery Award Finalist

Andrew Faulk

March 17, 2012

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - Navy senior gymnast Andrew Faulk has been named one of six finalists for the 2012 Nissen-Emery Award, which is presented annually to the nation's outstanding senior collegiate gymnast. Faulk joins Paul Ruggeri of Illinois, D.J. Repp of Minnesota, Ty Echard of Ohio State, Miguel Pineda of Penn State and Glen Ishino of Cal as finalists for this year's award.

Faulk is the first Nissen-Emery Award finalist from the Naval Academy since Eric Swanson in 1973.

Faulk has been one of the best gymnasts in the conference this season as he has ranked in the top 10 in the nation in all-around average for the past six weeks. The native of San Antonio, Texas, has won the all-around in five consecutive meets this season.

Last year, Faulk ranked in the top 10 in the nation in all-around average in seven of the final eight weeks of the season en route to competing in the NCAA Championships. Faulk qualified for the NCAA Championships where he was the only student-athlete from a service academy to compete in the all-around and placed 18th.

Faulk has been named USAG Collegiate Division National Gymnast of the Week five times this season and a total of 12 times in his career. The 2012 team captain has been honored as ECAC Gymnast of the Week on seven occasions.

Faulk is a quantitative economics major and his service selection is Navy pilot.

The Nissen-Emery Award does not only honor the collegiate senior gymnast who has established an outstanding record of achievement during his college career, but those that display good sportsmanship and maintain a high standard of academics as well.

Established in 1966, the Nissen-Emery Award is inscribed with the following motto: "The true champion seeks excellence physically, mentally, socially, and morally." The award is presented annually at the NCAA Gymnastics Championships.

This year's NCAA Championships will take place April 19-21 in Norman, Oklahoma.



2012 Nissen-Emery Finalists
Ty Echard - Ohio State University
Andrew Faulk - United States Naval Academy
Glen Ishino - University of California Berkeley
Miguel Pineda - Penn State University
DJ Repp - University of Minnesota
Paul Ruggeri - University of Illinois
The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities