NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy's Tormey, Paul Named to Tewaaraton Preseason Watch List
» «

Navy's Tormey, Paul Named to Tewaaraton Preseason Watch List

Feb. 19, 2009

BALTIMORE, Md. —  Preseason All-Americans Andy Tormey (Syracuse, N.Y.) and Tim Paul (Parkton, Md.) have been named to the Tewaaraton Award Foundation’s 2009 Men’s Preseason Watch List it was announced on Thursday.  The 60-man roster is made up of those student-athletes who are considered to be the players to watch this season and who are eligible to win the Tewaaraton Trophy awarded annually to the nation’s top lacrosse player.

A 2009 Preseason Second-Team All-American and the Mids’ team captain, Tormey is a veteran member of Navy’s nationally-ranked defensive squad that has been ranked among the top three in the country every year he’s been on the team, including 2006 when it led the country in scoring defense.   Navy’s lone returning starter off a unit that was ranked No. 3 in scoring defense (6.50), Tormey has been the cornerstone of Navy’s success in its first two contests this season.

The Mids’ defense not only held VMI to just five second-half shots, it held the Keydets without a goal for the final 30-plus minutes of action. Navy followed up by keeping one of the top-scoring offensive units in the country, Ohio State, off the scoreboard for more than 17 minutes, as the Mids built a 3-0 lead.  Head coach Richie Meade again looked to his captain in the fourth quarter of that contest for his leadership, as the defense smothered the Buckeyes, giving up just two shots in the final 15 minutes and held them without a shot on goal to secure thte win.

Navy’s defense has held 12 of its last 18 opponents to seven or fewer goals, including both of its foes this season.  When achieving this feat, the Midshipmen have won 23 in a row.

Paul, a Preseason Honorable Mention All-America selection, has started 24 of the 33 games in which he has played and is Navy’s top point producer this season with six points on four goals and two assists. The Loyola-Blakefield High School product has scored a pair of goals in each of the Mids’ wins this season, while he has scored two or more goals 17 times during his career.

Remarkably, he has produced a point in 24 games during his three-year career, while recording two or more points in 17 contests.  Since taking over the starting job on April 6, 2007 against Maryland (after Bruce Nechanicky’s injury), he has been held without a point just three times in 22 contests - vs. Cornell in ‘08, Georgetown in ‘08, Johns Hopkins in ‘08 (NCAA?Tourney).

This is the sixth consecutive year a Navy player has been named to the watch list.  He joins Ian Dingman in 2004, Graham Gill Mitch Hendler, Steve Looney and Matt Russell in 2005, Ian Dingman, Billy Looney, Steve Looney and Matt Russell in 2006, Billy Looney in 2007 and Jordan DiNola in 2008.

Over the course of the season, players will be added and cut based on their performances, but ultimately the committee will name its five finalists with the award handed out following the National Championship.  The 2009 committee is comprised of the following:  Chair-Dick Edell (retired, Maryland), John Tillman (Harvard), Greg Cannella (Massachusetts), Jack Emmer (retired, Army), Hank Janczyk (Gettysburg), Scott Marr (Albany), Mike Pressler (Bryant), Tony Seaman (Towson), Dom Starsia (Virginia), Dave Urick (Georgetown) and Don Zimmerman (UMBC).

2009 Tewaaraton Award Foundation Preseason Watch List
Matt Abbott, Syracuse
Drew Adams, Penn State
Kylor Berkman, Salisbury
Garrett Billings, Virginia
Jeremy Blevins, UMBC
Andrew Brancaccio, Georgetown
Shamel Bratton, Virginia
Jordan Burke, Brown
Grant Catalino, Maryland
Brian Caufield, Albany
Ken Clausen, Virginia
Brandon Corp, Colgate
Nick Cosco, Endicott
Ned Crotty, Duke
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook
Joel Dalgarno, Ohio State
Tom Davis, Princeton
Curtis Dickson, Delaware
Craig Dowd, Georgetown
Matt Drenan, Johns Hopkins
Jason Duboe, Harvard
Barney Erhmann, Georgetown
Michael Evans, Johns Hopkins
Brian Farrell, Maryland
John Galloway, Syracuse
Danny Glading, Virginia
John Glynn, Cornell
Zack Greer, Bryant
Dan Groot, Maryland
Eric Hagarty, Endicott
Dan Hardy, Syracuse
Ryan Hoff, Notre Dame
Ben Hunt, North Carolina
Ryan Hurley, Cornell
Matt Kelly, Virginia
Scott Kocis, Georgetown
Shane Koppens, Loyola
Mark Kovler, Princeton
Jamie Lincoln, Denver
Jordan McBride, Stony Brook
Doug McIver, LeMoyne
Matt Moyer, Cornell
Kenny Nims, Syracuse
Tim Paul, Navy
Justin Pennington, Rutgers
Jason Peyer, Army
Chris Peyser, Princeton
Max Quinzani, Duke
P.T. Ricci, Loyola
Brad Ross, Duke
Steve Schoeffel, Duke
Max Seibald, Cornell
Corey Small, Albany
Ari Sussman, Dartmouth
Andy Tormey, Navy
Shane Walterhoefer, N. Carolina
Joel White, Syracuse
Austin Winter, Bucknell
Will Yeatman, Maryland
Grant Zimmerman, N. Carolina

### Go Navy ###



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities