NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - 2004 Navy Men's Lacrosse Team To Be Honored
» «

2004 Navy Men's Lacrosse Team To Be Honored

2004 Navy team captain Bucky Morris

April 3, 2014

ANNAPOLIS, Md. —  The 2004 Navy men’s lacrosse team, who earned the program’s first trip to the National Championship since 1975, will be honored at halftime of Saturday’s men’s lacrosse contest against top-ranked Loyola at 12:00 pm.

The Midshipmen made their historic run 10 years ago in a season that saw Navy win a school-record 15 games.  Navy put together an undefeated conference mark en route to winning the Patriot League regular-season and tournament titles in what was its first season in the Patriot League.  By virtue of their conference title, the Mids earned an automatic bid to play in the NCAA Tournament, their first since 1999.

Navy earned an 11-5 victory over Penn in the first round of the NCAA Tournament before edging seventh-ranked Cornell in the quarterfinals on the Big Red’s home field.  The Mids scored an 8-7 win over Princeton in the semifinals to punch their ticket to the National Championship where they would fall a goal short against Syracuse (14-13).

Seven Midshipmen garnered All-America honors in 2004, including Matt Russell who was named the winner of the Ens. C. Markland Kelly Award as the nation’s top goalkeeper.  Ian Dingman, Ben Bailey, Mitch Hendler, Joe Bossi, Graham Gill and Steve Looney also garnered All-America recognition.  Meanwhile, Richie Meade was the recipient of the Morris Touchstone Memorial Award, given to the National Coach of the Year.

Those expected to be in attendance this weekend include Ben Bailey, Jared Bosanko, Ian Dingman, Seth DiNola, Dan Eddy, Mike Felber, Colin Finnegan, Graham Gill, Matt Hage, Mitch Hendler, Clipper Lennon, Matt Meehan, Dwayne Osgood, Pat Reilly, William Wallace and Patrick Winter.  Additionally, Ray Finnegan and Mark Goers, who were on the coaching staff in 2004, will also be in attendance.  Several players from the 2004 team remain on active duty in the Navy and Marine Corps and are currently deployed, including team captain Thomas “Bucky” Morris, however a number of their family members will be on hand to take part in the festivities.

Tickets ($10 adults, $5 students) to Saturday’s contest may be purchased in advance at the Navy Ticket Office, via the internet at or at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium on game day.  Fans unable to attend Saturday’s contest can tune in to 1430 AM/99.9 FM WNAV or 1500 AM WFED to hear Pete Medhurst and Joe Miller call the action. Additionally, fans can watch the free video stream of the game on the Mids’ web site at or

### Go Navy ###



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities