NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Mickey Jarboe Named to 2010 U.S. Lacrosse Training Team
» «

Mickey Jarboe Named to 2010 U.S. Lacrosse Training Team

June 18, 2009

ANNAPOLIS, Md. —  Former Navy standout and two-time Ens. C. Markland Kelly Award winner Mickey Jarboe (Towson, Md.) is one of the 40 players named to the 2010 U.S. Men’s Lacrosse National Training Team following a three-day tryout at Bryant University.  Jarboe was one of nearly 200 players who submitted applications to be considered for the tryouts and was later selected as one of just 84 players to have that opportunity just over a week ago.

All 40 players, tabbed by a 14-member player selection committee, advance with an opportunity to compete in the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championship in Manchester, England from July 10-24, 2010. Team USA will compete in three training weekends during the fall of 2009. After those three weekends, the roster will be cut to the FIL-mandated size of 23 players for the 2010 FIL World Championship in Manchester, England.

Having served his country the last nine years as a helicopter pilot based out of San Diego, Jarboe returned to the game of lacrosse in the summer of 2007.  Picked up by the now-defunct Los Angeles Riptide, he led the team to a Major League Lacrosse Championship appearance in 2007.  A two-time MLL All-Star, Jarboe was named the MLL’s 2008 Warrior Goalkeeper of the Year after pacing the league with just over a 12.00 goals-against average, while leading the Riptide back championship weekend for a second straight year.

A product of Calvert Hall High School in Baltimore, Jarboe enjoyed an illustrious career at the Naval Academy that resulted in twice being named an All-American (1999, 2000), while also receiving the highest honor bestowed upon a college goalkeeper.  Jarboe, who is Navy’s career saves leader with 701, won the Ens. C. Markland Kelly Award in 1999 and again in 2000 as the nation’s best netminder.  He is one of 12 players all-time to win the Kelly Award multiple times over the 61 years it has been handed out and is the last player to win it in back-to-back seasons.  Additionally, he is one of seven different Navy players to claim the award and joins Dennis Wedekind (1963, ‘65) as the lone two-time winners from the Academy.
“Just being invited was an honor itself, especially due to the decrease (120 down to 84) in tryout spots,” said Jarboe, who seeks the opportunity to become Navy’s first US Team member since three-time All-American Andy Ross was selected to the 1998 and ‘02 teams.  “It's great being noticed as someone who could possibly play for their country.  I am extremely grateful to my squadron for allowing me to take leave and fulfill this great opportunity afforded me.”

The training team includes eight members of the 2006 U.S. team that finished as runner-up to Canada at the world championship: Ryan Boyle, Kevin Cassese, Kyle Harrison, Nicky Polanco, Ryan Powell, Matt Striebel, Kyle Sweeney and Joe Walters.  Additionally, Boyle, Cassese and Striebel were also members of the gold medal-winning 2002 U.S. men’s team.

Added Jarboe, “The tryout was an experience I will remember forever.  It was 84 of the best players in the country, playing and battling to be chosen to represent their country.  Each session was played at the highest level, but everyone there knew that there was a higher calling than just individual achievements.  Every player there was not only a great athlete, but also a great person; no egos or attitudes.”

Jarboe is one of five players on the training squad who is not currently playing in the Major Lacrosse League.  Instead, Jarboe manages his playing career around his flying schedule as a member of the Quicksilver Lacrosse Club, while also working out with one of his former Riptide coaches, three-time Hobart All-American Shawn Trell.

2010 U.S. Men’s Training Team:

Ryan Boyle - Boston Cannons (Princeton ‘04)
Matt Danowski - Long Island Lizards (Duke ‘08)
Kevin Leveille - Chicago Machine (UMass ‘03)
Mike Leveille - Chicago Machine (Syracuse ‘08)
Brendan Mundorf - Denver Outlaws (UMBC ‘06)
Ryan Powell - Big Foot LC (Syracuse ‘00)
Drew Westervelt - Denver Outlaws (UMBC ‘07)

Kevin Buchanan - Washington Bayhawks (Ohio State ‘08)
Brandon Corp - Boston Cannons (Colgate ‘09)
Ned Crotty - Duke ‘09

Matt Abbott - Washington Bayhawks (Syracuse ‘09)
Stephen Berger - Long Island Lizards (Washington ‘04)
Steven Brooks - Chicago Machine (Syracuse ‘08)
Kevin Cassese - Boston Cannons (Duke ‘03)
John Glynn - Chicago Machine (Cornell ‘09)
Kyle Harrison - Denver Outlaws (Johns Hopkins ‘05)
Stephen Peyser - Long Island Lizards (Johns Hopkins ‘08)
Matt Poskay - Boston Cannons (Virginia ‘06)
Paul Rabil - Boston Cannons (Johns Hopkins ‘08)
Max Seibald - Denver Outlaws (Cornell ‘09)
Chris Schiller - Sailin’ Shoe LC (Penn State ‘99)
Matt Striebel - Chicago Machine (Princeton ‘01)
Joe Walters - Toronto Nationals (Maryland ‘06)
Matt Zash - Long Island Lizards (Duke ‘06)

Joe Cinosky - Toronto Nationals (Maryland ‘09)
DJ Driscoll - Chicago Machine (Notre Dame ‘06)
Eric Martin - Denver Outlaws (Salisbury ‘04)
Ryan McClay - Boston Cannons (Cornell ‘03)
Shawn Nadelen - Washington Bayhawks (Johns Hopkins ‘01)
Nicky Polanco - Long Island Lizards (Hofstra ‘02)
Jack Reid - Boston Cannons (Massachusetts ‘06)
Lee Zink - Denver Outlaws (Maryland ‘04)

Faceoff Specialist
Chris Eck - Boston Cannons (Colgate ‘08)
Alex Smith - Washington Bayhawks (Delaware ‘07)

Longstick Midfield
Parker McKee - Duke ‘10
Nick O’Hara - Toronto Nationals (Duke ‘07)
Kyle Sweeney - Boston Cannons (Georgetown ‘03)

Brian Dougherty - Long Island Lizards (Maryland ‘95)
Adam Fullerton - Denver Outlaws (Army ‘08)
Mickey Jarboe - Quicksilver LC (Navy ‘00)

### Go Navy ###



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities