NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Sprint Football Has 27 Named to All-League Teams
» «

Sprint Football Has 27 Named to All-League Teams

Linebacker Matt Piotrowicz was named to the All-CSFL first team for the second consecutive year.

Nov. 20, 2012

All-CSFL Teams (PDF)

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - For the second consecutive year, the Navy sprint football team picked up a total of 27 All-Collegiate Sprint Football League accolades, it was announced by the conference today. Navy's 27 All-CSFL selections were more than any other team in the conference.

Leading the way for Navy were four Mids selected to the All-CSFL first team, including offensive lineman Drew Owens, linebacker Matt Piotrowicz, defensive lineman Dylan Etzel and punter Michael DeLong.

Owens, a co-captain, started every game for the second consecutive year. After earning all-league second-team honors in 2011, the senior claimed first-team accolades this season in helping Navy rank second in the conference in total offense.

Piotrowicz and Etzel were key pieces in Navy's league-leading defense that held opponents to an average of 193 yards per game. Piotrowicz picked up his second consecutive All-CSFL first-team honor after again leading Navy in tackles. The junior led Navy with 50 tackles last season and his 52 this season were also tops on the team. Etzel recorded 26 stops from his defensive tackle position this season.

DeLong earned his third all-league honor and his second straight first-team selection. The punter averaged just over 37 yards per kick this season and dropped two inside the 20-yard line.

Sophomore running back Alex Horton was Navy's leading rusher in 2012, picking up a total of 454 yards. His seven touchdowns also led Navy as he was voted to the All-CSFL second team. Junior offensive lineman Josh Escobar, who helped pave the way for the Navy running game, also garnered second-team accolades.

Linebackers Collin Ascherl, Will Parker and Temple Sloan were all voted to the All-CSFL second team. In joining Piotrowicz, it ensured all four Navy starters at the position received all-conference recognition. Parker (29 tackles) was a second-team honoree last season, while Ascherl (21 tackles) and Sloan (25 tackles) are both freshmen.



Defensive lineman Chris Mershon tied for the team lead in tackles for loss with 10.5 (49 yards) and earned a spot on the all-conference second team.

The Navy secondary produced 14 interceptions this season, which was its highest total since 2010. Senior Stephen Meidus led all Midshipmen with four picks and joined fellow safety Brendan West and cornerback Alec McGlaughlin on the All-CSFL second team.

Junior kicker Adrian Monteicons, who connected on 9-of-13 field goal attempts, was named to the All-CSFL second team for the third straight year.

A total of 13 Mids garnered all-conference honorable mention accolades: quarterback Lewis Correale, tight end Daniel Meaney, running backs Corey Garcia and D.J. Hooper, offensive linemen Vinnie Curley, Mark Reaser and Ryan Keyes, wide receivers Jesse Holian, Michael Buck and Tracy Daniels, defensive linemen Julian Jerzerick and Zac Blanchard and defensive back Ronald Allen.

First Team
Drew Owens (Sr., OL)
Matt Piotrowicz (Jr., LB)
Dylan Etzel (Jr., DL)
Michael DeLong (Sr., P)

Second Team
Alexander Horton (So., RB)
Josh Escobar (Jr., OL)
Collin Ascherl (Fr., LB)
Will Parker (Sr., LB)
Temple Sloan (Fr., LB)
Chris Mershon (So., DL)
Stephen Meidus (Sr., DB)
Alec McGlaughlin (Jr., DB)
Brendan West (Jr., DB)
Adrian Montecinos (Jr., K)

Honorable Mention
Lewis Correale (So., QB)
Daniel Meaney (Jr., TE)
Corey Garcia (Fr., RB)
D.J. Hooper (Sr., RB)
Vinnie Curley (Sr., OL)
Mark Reaser (Sr., OL)
Ryan Keyes (Jr., OL)
Jesse Holian (So., WR)
Michael Buck (Jr., WR)
Tracy Daniels (Jr., WR)
Julian Jerzerick (Sr., DL)
Zac Blanchard (So., DL)
Ronald Allen (Sr., DB)

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities