NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Sprint Football Has 29 Named to All-League Teams
» «

Sprint Football Has 29 Named to All-League Teams

Senior Matt Piotrowicz was named to the CSFL First Team for the third straight year.

Nov. 25, 2013

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - The Navy sprint football team was recognized as a total of 29 Mids earned All-Collegiate Sprint Football League accolades in the league's year-end awards announcement. Led by four first-team honorees, Navy's 29 All-CSFL selections were the second highest in the league.

Three-time All-CSFL first teamer Matt Piotrowicz (Sr., Sewell, N.J.) highlights a quartet of Midshipmen, who garnered spots on the first team. Brendan West (Sr., Meridian, Idaho), Chris Mershon (Jr., Lee's Summit, Mo.) and Ryan Keyes (Sr., Hudson, Ohio) joined Piotrowicz amongst the league's top players.

Piotrowicz, West and Mershon were key pieces of a Navy defense that allowed the second fewest yards per game in the CSFL (216.8) and just 74 total points to its opponents. Each the three players led their respective units in tackles with Piotrowicz spearheading Navy's linebacking corps with 59 stops, while Mershon led the defensive line with 35 and West, the defensive backs with 28. Mershon was Navy's leading pass rusher with a team-high 8.5 sacks and 15.5 tackles for loss during the season. West augmented his strong play at safety with 438 all-purpose yards, as well, including 405 on kickoff and punt returns.

Keyes was a stalwart for the Mids on their offensive line with starts in all six games at offensive tackle. The senior improved from an honorable mention nod in 2012 to first team status in 2013 after anchoring a rushing attack that gained 218.5 yards per game and 15 touchdowns on the ground.

Senior defensive back Alec McGlaughlin (State College, Pa.) and sophomore Temple Sloan (Raleigh, N.C.) lead a group of 10 All-CSFL Second Team performers from Navy. For the second straight year, McGlaughlin and Sloan earned leagues accolades as McGlaughlin finished with a team-high three interceptions, while Sloan ranked third on the Mids with 29 tackles.

Three more starting defenders were named to the second team as Jon Moyle (Jr., Tallahassee, Fla.), Robert Atkinson (Sr., Gainesville, Fla.) and Ben Pope (Jr., Memphis, Tenn.) all garnered nods. Moyle and Pope played key roles on Navy's defensive line with 45 combined tackles (Moyle-29, Pope-16) and 13.5 stops for loss. Atkinson, who ranged between linebacker and defensive line positions during the year, was selected in recognition of his 21 tackles, 6.0 for loss.

Offensively, five Mids were honored on the second team with two running backs, two pass catchers and a lineman chosen. The sophomore duo of Eric Wellmon (Wallkill, N.Y.) and Corey Garcia (San Diego, Calif.) went one-two on Navy with rushing totals of 479 and 447 yards, respectively. Wide receiver Michael Buck (Sr., Fayetteville, Ga.) and tight end Daniel Meaney (Sr., Naperville, Ill.) were recognized for their totals of 136 and 74 receiving yards, respectively. Offensive guard Michael Granthom (So., Rock Springs, Wyo.) rounds out Navy's 10 second team honorees.

A total of 15 Mids garnered all-conference honorable mention accolades: quarterback William Hampton (Jr., Charleston, S.C.), kicker/punters Adrian Montecinos (Sr., Whittier, Calif.) and Brett Deters (So., Ankeny, Iowa), wide receivers Tracy Daniels (Sr., Jonesboro, Ga.) and Matthew Hite (So., Chapin, S.C.), offensive linemen Brian Mihaljevich (Jr., Leona Valley, Calif.) and Zach Coleman (Fr., Lehighton, Pa.) tight end Dan Shackleton (Sr., Malvern, Pa.), defensive backs Alec Jarm (Jr., Louisville, Ky.), Brady Flies (Jr., Seattle, Wash.), Dan Gilmore (So., Mansfield, Mass.) and Rex Willis (Fr., Tyrone, Ga.), defensive linemen Jarrett Brant (Sr., Camas, Wash.) and Zac Blanchard (Jr., Orange, Texas), and linebacker Collin Ascherl (So., Granville, Iowa).  


First Team (4)

Ryan Keyes (Sr., OL)

Christopher Mershon (Jr., DL)

Matthew Piotrowicz (Sr., LB)

Brendan West (Sr., DB)


Second Team (10)

Robert Atkinson (Sr., LB)

Michael Buck (Sr., WR)

Corey Garcia (So., RB)

Michael Granthom (So., OL)

Alec McGlaughlin (Sr., DB)

Daniel Meaney (Sr., TE)

Jon Moyle (Jr., DL)

Ben Pope (Jr., DL)

Temple Sloan (So., LB)

Eric Wellmon (So., RB)


Honorable Mention (15)

Collin Ascherl (So., LB)

Zac Blanchard (So., DL)

Jarrett Brant (Sr., DL)

Zach Coleman (Fr. OL)

Tracy Daniels (Sr., WR)

Brett Deters (So., P/K)

Brady Flies (Jr., DB)

Dan Gilmore (So., DB)

William Hampton (Jr., QB)

Matthew Hite (So., WR)

Alec Jarm (Jr., DB)

Brian Mihaljevich (Jr., OL)

Adrian Montecinos (Sr., P/K)

Dan Shackleton (Sr., TE)

Rex Willis (Fr., DB)



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities