NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Sprint Football Hands Out Annual Awards
» «

Sprint Football Hands Out Annual Awards

Julian Jerzerick won a share of the Col. "Sparky" Renforth Award for the second consecutive year.

Dec. 11, 2012

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - Junior defensive back Brendan West was named the team MVP as the Navy sprint football team recently handed out its annual awards. West, who was earlier named to the All-CSFL second team, produced a total of 27 tackles this season, including 19 solo stops. West also was also voted the recipient of the Special Forces Award, which goes to the best special teams player, as he led Navy in both kick (404, 31.1 avg.) and punt (253, 15.8 avg.) return yards. The native of Meridian, Idaho, had a season-long kick return of 86 yards that went for a touchdown against Princeton.

Junior linebacker Matt Piotrowicz, a two-time All-CSFL first-team honoree, was voted Navy's defensive MVP. Piotrowicz led Navy in tackles for the second consecutive season as he racked up a total of 50.

Sophomore running back Alex Horton led Navy with a total of 454 yards on the ground (5.3 avg.) and was voted the team's offensive MVP. Horton, who was one of several players to shoulder the load at the position this season, led the team with seven touchdowns.

Staying on the offensive side of the ball, senior offensive lineman and co-captain Drew Owens earned the Jack Cloud Award, which is presented annually to the team's hardest working player. Fellow senior Ryan Montgomery, a running back, garnered the Unsung Hero Award.

Senior co-captain Will Parker, who produced 29 tackles from his linebacker position this season, was voted the winner of the Sexton Leadership Award.

Senior Julian Jerzerick, who earned the Col. "Sparky" Renforth Lineman of the Year honor last season, claimed part of the award again this season. Jerzerick had 22 tackles this season and shared the award with fellow defensive lineman Chris Mershon, who tied for the team lead in tackles for loss with 10.5.



Temple Sloan, a freshman linebacker, who appeared in all seven games, was voted the winner of the John S. Degan Award as most outstanding freshman. Sophomore wide receiver Dominic Chumich, who had 11 catches fort 118 yards, was garnered the W.J. Gooding Award as the team's most improved player.

Sophomore wide receiver Jesse Holian, who had six catches for 101 yards against Army, was honored with the Lt. Cmdr. Albert A. Shaufelberger, III Award as the MVP of the Star Game.

The team selected all honorees.

Team MVP - Jr. DB Brendan West
Offensive MVP - So. RB Alex Horton
Defensive MVP - Jr. LB Matt Piotrowicz
Jack Cloud Award (hardest working player) - Sr. OL Drew Owens
Special Forces Award (special teams player) - Jr. DB Brendan West
Sexton Leadership Award - Sr. LB Will Parker
Lt. Cmdr. Albert A. Shaufelberger, III Award (N-Star Game MVP) - So. WR Jesse Holian
Unsung Hero Award - Sr. RB Ryan Montgomery
W.J. Gooding '52 Award (most improved player) - So. WR Dominic Chumich
Col. "Sparky" Renforth Lineman of the Year Award - Sr. DL Julian Jerzerick and So. DL Chris Mershon
John S. Degnan '52 Award (most outstanding freshman) - Fr. LB Temple Sloan

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities