NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy Men Win Third-Straight League Crown
» «

Navy Men Win Third-Straight League Crown

Feb. 25, 2006

Final Stats

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - The Navy men's swimming and diving team closed the Patriot League Championship by winning five titles during the last session of the meet to total 853 points and win the team title by over 200 points. Army posted a score of 651.50 points to place second in the three-day meet, which was held in Navy's home pool, Lejeune Hall.

Winning titles on the night for the Navy program were David Guthmann in the 1650 freestyle, Mike Linn in the 100 free, Tyler Hill in the 200 butterfly, Kevin Teague on the three-meter springboard and Navy's 400 freestyle relay team.

"The team really came in focused on doing well tonight," said Navy head coach Bill Roberts. "There was some great racing within the team and throughout the league. A lot of really strong swims may have been overlooked by some great performances, but they all were essential to the overall success of the team."

Guthmann, who placed second in Friday's 400 individual medley, posted a time of 16:01.11 in winning the 1650 freestyle by five seconds over Army's David Michelson. Navy's Ian Getzler placed sixth in the race (16.21.77), with Andy Bockus placing ninth (16:28.91).

Daniel Mizelle was Navy's top swimmer in the final of the 200 backstroke, placing fourth in a time of 1:52.24.

Navy swimmers occupied four of the eight lanes in the championship final of the men's 100 freestyle event. Joe Smutz set a Navy, Patriot League and meet record of 40.08 in posting the fastest time of the trial heats, but he was edged in the final by teammate Mike Linn who recorded a career-best time of 44.12. Smutz completed the race in second place with a clocking of 44.15.



Army's Efri Ruthenberg placed third in the race with a time of 45.12, with Navy's Preston Mihalko in fourth (45.91) and Christian Foschi in fifth (46.23). Both Mihalko and Foschi set career-best times in the race.

"Mike, Joe and Christian have been duking it out all year and tonight was no exception," said Roberts.

A pair of Mids also competed in the consolation final of the 100 free. Alex Oldenkamp won the race in a time of 46.68, while John Lyles recorded a 47.76 to place seventh.

Navy's Ari Molina and Mike Lowhorn both competed in the consolation final of the 200 breaststroke. Lowhorn won the race in a career-best time of 2:09.88, with Molina recording 2:10.75 in placing fourth.

Hill trailed Army's Zach Disbrow for much of the 200 fly final, including by four-tenths of a second after 150 yards. Hill then posted a time of 28.83 during the final 50 yards to outdistance Disbrow by 1.02 seconds over the final lap and win the race in a Navy and meet record time of 1:50.04. Teammate Ian Getzler also reached the final in the event, placing eighth with a time of 1:55.21.

Kevin Teague picked up his second title of the weekend and his sixth career Patriot League title by winning the three meter with a score of 365.40. Army's Doug Klein placed second in the event with a score of 300.55. Navy also received great efforts from Adam Niekras, who placed third with a score of 290.35, and from Zach Templin, who placed fifth with a score of 270.30.

The 100 freestyle record time set by Smutz during the morning trials stood until the opening leg of the evening's 400 freestyle relay. Linn swam the opening leg of the race in a time of 43.96 to break the mark of 40.08 set by Smutz. It also was only one one-hundredth of a second off of the pool record set by Michael Phelps two years ago.

After Linn's great start to the relay, Alex Oldenkamp, Preston Mihalko and Christian Foschi continued to swim well, posting a pool record time of 3:00.62 to win by over three seconds.

Smutz was selected as the Patriot League Swimmer of the Year, Teague garnered his second-straight diver-of-the-year accolade and Guthmann was named as the league's rookie of the year.

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities