NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy Headlines All-Patriot League Swimming and Diving Teams
» «

Navy Headlines All-Patriot League Swimming and Diving Teams

Dain Bomberger

Feb. 26, 2014

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. -- The Navy swimming and diving program, which over the weekend swept the team titles at the Patriot League Championship for a third-straight season, placed 26 members onto the all-league teams that were announced Wednesday by the league office.

Both the first and second teams consist of 18 members, with more added if there are any ties.  All individual event champions automatically earn first-team recognition, with the remaining first-team positions filled based upon individual event points scored during the championship.  All individual event second-place swimmers and divers not already appearing on the first team are then placed onto the second team.  The second team also is rounded out by the next highest individual event point tallies.

Earning the most points of any individual at the championship was Navy men's swimmer Tom Duvall (So., Durham, N.H.).  The 2014 Patriot League Swimmer of the Meet won the 200, 500 and 1650 freestyle events over the course of the week.  Also earning a major individual award at the championship was teammate Wil Mayo (Sr., The Woodlands, Texas), who was tabbed as the league's diver of the meet after winning both springboard events.

Duvall and Mayo were two of the six members of the Navy men's team to win an event and automatically garner first-team all-league accolades.  Dain Bomberger (Jr., Lititz, Pa.) won the 50 and 100 freestyle, Jonathan DeBaugh (So., Conroe, Texas) swept the two butterfly finals, Sean Murphy (Sr., Hudson, Ohio) claimed the two breaststroke event crowns, and Joe Lane (Fr., Durham, N.H.) won the championship final of the 100 backstroke.

Additional members of the Navy men's team to receive first-team accolades were Alex Nickell (So., Loveland, Colo.), Riley Mita (Jr., Stevenson Ranch, Calif.) and Conor Campbell (Sr., Manassas, Va.).

Navy's second-team recipients were Luke Hoffer (Sr., Chapel Hill, N.C.), Brendan Walsh (Jr., Annapolis, Md.), Hugh Davison (Sr., Towson, Md.), Noah Martin (So., Phoenix, Ariz.), Ben Grove (Sr., Winchester, Va.), Ben Freedman (Sr., Kennewick, Wash.) and D.J. Principato (Sr., Easton, Pa.).

A total of five members of the Navy women's team received First-Team All-Patriot League laurels, four of them by winning an individual event.  Anna Brooks (Fr., Kansasville, Wis.) won the 100 freestyle title, Maddi Thompson (So., Jersey Shore, Pa.) picked up the win in the 200 free, Hanna Gillcrist (Fr., Burlington, Ky.) won the 100 breaststroke final and Ellen Bradford (So., Knoxville, Tenn.) was the champion in the 200 breaststroke.  

Joining those four in earning first-team honors was Rachael Dudley (So., Hoschton, Ga.).

Members of the Navy women's team to receive automatic second-team honors were Lauren Baguley (Sr., Hudsonville, Mich.) and Rheanna Vaughn (Jr., Aliso Viejo, Calif.), while Julie Jesse (So., Edwardsburg, Mich.), Olivia Morrell (Fr., Albuquerque, N.M.) and Jessi Ford (Fr., Madison, Wis.) were placed onto the second team because of their point total.

Boston U., in its first season in the Patriot League, placed 15 members of its program onto the all-league teams, while both Army and Bucknell accounted for 12 placements on the squads.

First Team
Automatic (winning an individual event) -- Tom Duvall, Navy; Mike Nicholson, Bucknell; Dain Bomberger, Navy; Connor Stuewe, Boston U.; Jonathan DeBaugh, Navy; Sean Murphy, Navy; Wil Mayo, Navy; Joe Lane, Navy
Points -- Alex Nickell, Navy; Riley Mita, Navy; Chris Szekely, Army; Louis Behnen, Bucknell; Conor Campbell, Navy; Mun Hon Lee, Boston U.; Sean Regan, Army; Nik Astashinsky, Boston U.; Andy Vazquez, Boston U.; Cole Puchi, Boston U.; Jacob Moyer, Lehigh
Second Team
Automatic (placing second in an individual event) -- Michael Dustin, Army; Zachary Woods, Army; Luke Hoffer, Navy; Austin Dickey, Boston U.; Brendan Walsh, Navy; Jamal Willis, Lehigh
Points -- Hugh Davison, Navy; Samuel Mo, Army; Noah Martin, Navy; Ben Grove, Navy; Greg Grewal, Lafayette; Ben Seketa, Boston U.; Linc Kupke, Boston; Ben Freedman, Navy; Chris Hoke, Lehigh; Devin McCall, Army; Erik Heinemann, Bucknell; Wil Viana, Army; D.J. Principato, Navy

First Team
Automatic (winning an individual event) -- Stephanie Nasson, Boston U.; Ariana Bullard, Army; Anna Brooks, Navy; Maddi Thompson, Navy; Molly Mucciarone, Army; Hanna Gillcrist, Navy; Ellen Bradford, Navy; Courtney Patterson, Lehigh; Emma Levendoski, Bucknell; Kaitlyn Ruffing, Lehigh; Tara Boyle, Bucknell; Chelsea Glincman, Boston U.
Points -- Amber McDonnell, Bucknell; Rachael Dudley, Navy; Morgan Cohara, Colgate; Lauren Perry, Bucknell; Kelly Hamilton, Army; Diane Hanson, Bucknell; Cora Summerfield, Lehigh
Second Team
Automatic (placing second in an individual event) -- Sara Hargrave, Boston U.; Lauren Baguley, Navy; Rheanna Vaughn, Navy; Megan Jex, Colgate; Karla Ferrara, Boston U.; Tory Molchany, Bucknell
Points -- Cece Simpson, Boston U.; Carolyn Koch, Lehigh; Flora Hanson, Colgate; Kelly Pontecorvo, Bucknell; Julie Jesse, Navy; Jessica Burkett, Army; Ashley Henderson, Bucknell; Olivia Morrell, Navy; Danielle Ullman, Army; Jessi Ford, Navy; Alexsa Savage, Boston U.; Kalli Roebelen, Boston U.; Stephanie Koziol, Bucknell



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities