NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy Places 27 on All-League Swimming & Diving Teams
» «

Navy Places 27 on All-League Swimming & Diving Teams

Tom Duvall was selected as the league rookie of the year

Feb. 27, 2013

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. -- Navy placed a total of 27 of its swimmers and divers onto the All-Patriot League Teams for the sport that were announced Wednesday by the league office. Both Navy programs won Patriot League titles this weekend in Lewisburg, Pa., and the all-league teams are determined by individual event results during the championship.

Both the first and second teams consist of 18 members, with more added if there are any ties. All individual event champions automatically earn first-team recognition, with the remaining first-team positions completed based upon individual event points scored during the championship. All individual event second-place swimmers and divers not already appearing on the first team are then placed onto the second team. The remainder of the second team is also rounded out by use of the next highest individual event point tallies.

Headlining the women's list is Laura Gorinski (Sr., Greensburg, Pa.), who won three events to earn the league's swimmer-of-the-year accolade for a second-straight season. She picked up wins in both breaststroke events and in the 200 individual medley final. Those three wins raised her career total to 11 (in 12 career races), which is the most event titles won by a male or female swimmer in league history.

Also earning automatic placement onto the first team were Rachael Dudley (Fr., Hoschton, Ga.), who won the 500 free; Toni Paruso (Sr., Savannah, Ga.), who won the 100 fly; and Rheanna Vaughn (Jr., Aliso Viejo, Calif.), the winner of the 200 fly. Garnering first-team accolades based upon their respective point totals were Maddie Thompson (Fr., Jersey Shore, Pa.), Ellen Bradford (Fr., Knoxville, Tenn.) and Ange Sawick (So., Abington, Pa.).



Receiving second-team honors from Navy were Lauren Baguley (Jr., Hudsonville, Mich.), Kellie Darmody (Sr., Charlotte, N.C.), Zoe Macfarlane (Fr., Pensacola, Fla.) and Colleen Randolph (Jr., Annapolis, Md.).

The Navy men's team saw three of its swimmers win three events during the championship. Justin Vagts (Sr., Crofton, Md.) was selected as the swimmer of the meet for the second year in a row based upon his winning the 500 free, 400 individual medley and 1650 freestyle titles. Ben Bondurant (Sr., Atlanta, Ga.) and Hugh Davison (Jr., Towson, Md.) also matched the victory total of Vagts. Bondurant won both butterfly events and the 200 individual medley, while Davison earned wins in the 50 freestyle, 100 free and 200 free finals.

Joining Vagts, Bondurant and Davison in receiving automatic first-team nods were Ben Grove (Jr., Winchester, Va.), the winner of the 100 breaststroke; Conor Campbell (Jr., Manassas, Va.), who won the 200 back; Brendan Walsh (So., Pittsburgh, Pa.), who won the 100 backstroke; and Sean Murphy (Jr., Hudson, Ohio), the 200 breaststroke champion.

Completing the list of first-team recipients are Joe Stark (Sr., Erie, Pa.), Tom Duvall (Fr., Durham, N.H.), Luke Hoffer (Jr., Chapel Hill, N.C.), Riley Mita (So., Stevenson Ranch, Calif.), Jonathan DeBaugh (Fr., Conroe, Texas) and Alex Nickell (Fr., Loveland, Colo). Navy's second-team honorees are Ben Freedman (Jr., Kennewick, Wash.), Robbie Parker (Sr., Vienna, Va.) and Danny Quinn (Sr., Queenstown, Md.).

First Team
Laura Gorinski, Navy ^; Lauren Perry, Bucknell ^; Emma Santoro, Colgate ^; Rachael Dudley, Navy ^; Molly Mucciarone, Army ^; Rheanna Vaughn, Navy ^; Toni Paruso, Navy ^; Emma Levendoski, Bucknell ^; Kelly Pontecorvo, Bucknell ^; Katie Hetherington, Bucknell ^; Tara Boyle, Bucknell ^; Lia Kunnapas, Colgate ^^; Lindsey Sagasta, Colgate ^^; Maddie Thompson, Navy ^^; Carolyn Koch, Lehigh ^^; Ellen Bradford, Navy ^^; Ashley Henderson, Bucknell ^^; Ange Sawick, Navy ^^

Second Team
Stephanie Koziol, Bucknell &; Lauren Baguley, Navy&; Kellie Darmody, Navy &; Ryan Marynowski, Colgate &; Melissa Parker, American &; Kim Pilka, Colgate &; Zoe Macfarlane, Navy &&; Megan Jex, Colgate &&; Liz Porcellio, Bucknell &&; Morgan Cohara, Colgate &&; Jenna Jacoby, Colgate &&; Melanie Lockard, Colgate &&; Courtney Patterson, Lehigh &&; Emily Norton, Bucknell &&; Natalie Beale, Army &&; Colleen Randolph, Navy &&; Sami Wary, Colgate &&; Grace Hamilton, Army &&

First Team
Ben Bondurant, Navy ^; Justin Vagts, Navy ^; Hugh Davison, Navy ^; Ben Grove, Navy ^; Conor Campbell, Navy ^; Brendan Walsh, Navy ^; Chris Nguyen, Army ^; Sean Murphy, Navy ^; Joe Stark, Navy ^^; Tom Duvall, Navy ^^; Mike Nicholson, Bucknell ^^; Luke Hoffer, Navy ^^; Riley Mita, Navy ^^; Jonathan DeBaugh, Navy ^^; Christopher Hoke, Lehigh ^^; Alex Nickell, Navy ^^; Christian Treat, Bucknell ^^; Bobby Ballance, American ^^

Second Team Christopher Szekely, Army &; Michael Dustin, Army &; Zachary Woods, Army &; Ben Freedman, Navy &; Billy Krause, Bucknell &&; Robbie Parker, Navy &&; Ayman Andrews, Army &&; Matt Wurm, American &&; Samuel Mo, Army &&; Danny Bennett, Lehigh &&; Ben Seketa, Bucknell &&; Erik Heinemann, Bucknell &&; Danny Quinn, Navy &&; William Viana, Army &&; Richard Xue, Army &&; Chad Drake, Army &&; Demetrios Karedis, Lehigh &&; Daniel Foky, Army &&

^ - First team based on event win
^^ - First team based on points
& - Second team based on second-place finish in event
&& - Second team based on points

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities