NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Bailey Named as League Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year
» «

Bailey Named as League Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Bailey also earned the 2017 Coaches' Calvert Award
July 19, 2017

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. –– Navy swimmer Ryan Bailey (Youngstown, Ohio) has been selected as this year’s Corvias Patriot League Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The league office made the announcement of Bailey’s award on Wednesday, one day after announcing American field hockey player Natalie Konerth as the recipient of this year’s women’s accolade.

A scholar-athlete of the year is selected for each of the Patriot League’s 24 sponsored sports. Nomination requirements for the sport laurel include being at least a sophomore academically, having at least a 3.20 cumulative grade-point average and being a starter or key reserve on the team. All individual sport winners are then placed on a league-wide ballot to select the overall male and female scholar-athlete of the year.

Bailey graduated from Navy ranked 10th in the Class of 2017 on the Overall Order of Merit with a 3.98 cumulative grade-point average. The operations research major attained an A in all but one of his classes (B) in his four-year academic career. He is a two-time College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-American (2016, third team; 2017, first team) and received a 2017 NCAA Post Graduate Scholarship.

In the pool, Bailey earned all-league accolades in each of his final three seasons. This year’s men’s swimming team captain capped his career by garnering First-Team All-Patriot League honors after he won the 100 butterfly event at this year’s league championship. Bailey advanced to the championship final in an individual event at the league meet five times in his three years of competing at the championship and swam on Navy’s league title-winning 400 medley relay team in 2017.

Now an Ensign in the Navy, Bailey will fulfill his service commitment as an officer aboard a submarine.

Bailey becomes the 15th Mid to be selected as a Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Navy’s tally of 15 honorees leads all league schools (Colgate ranks second with eight awards) and a Mid has garnered at least one of the laurels in 11 of the last 14 years, including 2007 when Navy swept the male and female laurels. Most recently, Navy’s Ellen Bradford (swimming) garnered the female award in 2016 and Tom Buffone (track & field) won the male award in 2015. Bailey also is Navy’s seventh male recipient and is both the first male Mid and the fourth overall honoree in the league who competed in swimming. The lone prior male swimmer in the league to earn the laurel was Army’s Steve Haley in 1998, while Bradford and fellow Mid Kelly Zahalka (2009) round out the short list of previous female swimmers to garner the accolade.



Navy’s Patriot League Scholar-Athletes of the Year
1995 - Toby Moore (baseball)
2004 - Billy Hurley (golf)
2005 - Trevor Thompson (baseball)
2007 - Chris Renninger (golf)
2011 - Nick Birger (tennis)
2015 - Tom Buffone (track & field)
2017 - Ryan Bailey (swimming & diving)
1999 - Nicole Aunapu (soccer)
2002 - Kate Macfarlane (soccer)
2007 - Kirsten Andrews (track & field)
2008 - Kelly Zahalka (swimming & diving)
2009 - Lizzie Barnes (soccer)
2010 - Beth Reed (soccer)
2013 - Brigid Byrne (cross country, track & field)
2016 - Ellen Bradford (swimming & diving)

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities