NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Bernhardt Named to the 2017 MAWPC-East All-Conference Team
» «

Bernhardt Named to the 2017 MAWPC-East All-Conference Team

Nov. 17, 2017

ANNAPOLIS, Md. – Navy water polo junior Taylor Bernhardt (Annapolis, Md.) was selected to the 2017 Mid-Atlantic Water Polo Conference-East All-Conference Second Team as announced by the league office on Friday afternoon. Bernhardt is one of eight honorees named to the All-MAWPC Second Team.

He becomes the second player in school history to earn All-MAWPC accolades since the Collegiate Water Polo Association split into divisions prior to the 2016 season. David Huber (’17) was a second team selection last season.

Bernhardt finished the regular season with a career-high 24 points, including six goals and a team-best 18 assists. In addition to leading the team in assists, the junior paced the team with 29 steals on the year. Bernhardt is tied for the team lead in games played this season, seeing action in 21 of the Mids’ 23 games played.

For his career, Bernhardt heads into the conference tournament with 55 career points on 15 career goals and 40 goals in 63 total games.

Navy (8-15, 1-9 MAWPC) opens championship play on Friday at 4:30 p.m. versus the fourth-seed, Wagner (12-16, 5-5 MAWPC) at Lejeune Hall in Annapolis, Md.

For fans making the trip down to Annapolis for the championship weekend, general admission ticket prices are $10 per day and $25 for a weekend pass to the games on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Navy faculty, staff, administration, and students, along with senior citizens, receive a discounted rate of $5 per day and $12 for a weekend pass.

Due to the Naval Academy being an active United States Military installation, fans should be aware of the need to park off the Academy's grounds and walk through the Main Gate / Visitors Center to gain admission. Valid ID is required.

Fans who cannot make the trip to Navy will be able to follow all the action online as the MAWPC Championship will be live-streamed by the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Multimedia Department on a pay-per-view basis via the league's broadcast platform on Stretch Internet. Fans can access the streaming coverage by CLICKING HERE and signing up for either individual games ($10 per game) or a weekend pass ($25) that allows unlimited viewing on the tournament throughout the weekend.

Most Valuable Player: Rade Joksimovic (Bucknell)
Coach of the Year: Bill Harris (Fordham)
Rookie of the Year: Massimiliano Mirachi (Fordham)

First Team
Charlie Niehaus (Goalie) – Bucknell
Rade Joksimovic – Bucknell
Jake Miller-Tolt – Fordham
Massmiilano Mirachi – Fordham
Andrew Mavis – George Washington
Atakan Destici – George Washington
Jasmin Kolasinc – Wagner

Second Team
Alexander Jahns (Goalie) – Fordham
John Wilson (Goalie) – Johns Hopkins
Giorgio Cico – Johns Hopkins
Finn Banks – Johns Hopkins
Jeff Hagen – Bucknell
Cooper Dolan – Bucknell
Taylor Bernhardt – Navy
Ciaran Wolohan – Wagner



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities