NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Miller Named NAAA Athlete of the Week
» «

Miller Named NAAA Athlete of the Week

March 14, 2014

ANNAPOLIS, Md. --  Navy sophomore wrestler Mathew Miller (Edgewood, Md.) has been named the Naval Academy Athlete of the Week, presented by Rolls Royce, following his performance at the 2014 EIWA Championship last weekend.  

Miller entered the tournament as the third seed, but put on a show that featured wins by fall in three of his four matches.  He opened the two-day tournament with an 8-2 victory over Princeton's Ryan Callahan and followed up with a pin in 4:16 over Rutgers' Phillip Bakuckas.  Miller pinned Columbia's Shane Hughes in his first match last Saturday to advance to the 174-pound finals for a second straight year.  Miller left no question he was the top wrestler in his weight class, pinning Brad Wukie in the championship bout in under three minutes to win his first EIWA individual title and the program's 102nd individual crown winner since the conference's inception in 1941.  He is Navy's first title winner at 174 pounds since Matt Stolpinski took titles in 2007 and `08.

After three years (2010-12) without an EIWA individual champion, Navy has now crowned a title winner in each of the last two years (2013, HWT Dan Miller).  Mathew Miller, meanwhile, is Navy's first individual champion under interim head coach Brian Antonelli.

Miller was the 2014 recipient of the Sheridan Award which is given in honor of the former Lehigh coach to the wrestler who scores the most falls in the least amount of time.  Miller pinned three of his four opponents in 10:14.

Miller, along with teammates Colton Rasche (Plano, Ill.), Paul Rands (Cary, Ill.) and Peyton Walsh (Glen Allen, Va.), will represent the Naval Academy at the 2014 NCAA Championship slated for March 20-22 in Oklahoma City, Okla.

### Go Navy ###



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities