NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy Takes Aim at NCAA Wrestling Championship
» «

Navy Takes Aim at NCAA Wrestling Championship

Jadaen Bernstein is just the seventh wrestler in program history to qualify for the NCAA Championship four times.
Jadaen Bernstein is just the seventh wrestler in program history to qualify for the NCAA Championship four times.
March 14, 2018

2018 NCAA Wrestling Championship | Brackets | Match Notes
 When Thursday, March 15 - Saturday, March 17
 Location Cleveland, Ohio | Quicken Loans Arena
 Tickets Buy Online
 Thursday, March 15
12:00 pm - First Session (ESPNU / ESPN3)
  7:00 pm Second Session (ESPN / ESPN3)
 Friday, March 16
11:00 am - Third Session (ESPNU / ESPN3)
  8:00 pm Fourth Session (ESPN / ESPN3)
 Saturday, March 17
11:00 am - Fifth Session (ESPNU / ESPN3)
  8:00 pm Fourth Session (ESPN2 / ESPN3)
Live Results Follow here

Thursday, March 15 (ET)
12:00 pm - First Session (ESPNU / ESPN3)
    • Pigtails, Round of 32
7:00 pm - Second Session (ESPN / ESPN3)
    • Round of 16, Wrestleback Prelims

Friday, March 16 (ET)
11:00 am - Third Session (ESPNU / ESPN3)
    • Quarterfinals, Wrestleback Second & Third Rds.
8:00 pm - Fourth Session (ESPN / ESPN3)
    • Semifinals, Wrestleback Fourth & Fifth Rds.

Saturday, March 17 (ET)
11:00 am - Fifth Session (ESPNU / ESPN3)
    • Wrestleback Semifinals, Medal Rounds (3rd/5th/7th)
8:00 pm - Sixth Session (ESPN2 / ESPN3)
    • Championship Finals

Navy Takes Aim at NCAA Championship
• Five members of the Navy wrestling team will begin their quest for a national title on Thursday when they make the journey to Cleveland, Ohio for the 88th NCAA Wrestling Championship held at Quicken Loans Arena The tournament is set to begin at 12:00 pm (eastern) on Thursday with afternoon and evening sessions slated for Thursday, Friday and Saturday.
• Representing Navy is four-time NCAA qualifier Jadaen Bernstein (Glen Gardner, N.J.) at 174 pounds, along with two-time qualifiers Nicholas Gil (Jr / Crystal Lake, Ill..) at 141 pounds, Jared Prince (So / Safety Harbor, Fla.) at 149 pounds and Michael Coleman (Sr / Hudson, Ohio) at 184 pounds, while 165-pound Drew Daniels (Sr / Overland Park, Kan.) who will make his debut at the national tournament.
• All five of Navy's qualifiers earned automatic berths to the NCAA Championship by way of their finish in their respective weight classes at the 2018 EIWA Championship held at Hofstra's David S. Mack Sports and Exhibition Complex in Hempstead, N.Y., on March 3-4.
• Meanwhile, senior Zack Davis (Granger, Ind.) will accompany the team to Cleveland and will serve as the first alternate at 157 pounds. Should a wrestler not make weight, fail skin checks or be unable to wrestle in the first round due to injury, Davis would be inserted into the tournament.

Navy's NCAA History
• This is Navy's 70th NCAA Tournament appearance and fourth under head coach Joel Sharratt.
• At least one Navy wrestler has participated in the NCAA Championship in each of the last 22 years.
• Navy has placed among the top 25 in four of the last 11 NCAA Championships, including back-to-back 18th-place finishes in 2007 and `08 which is its best placement since 1990 when Navy finished 13th. The Mids finished 31st at last year's championship.
• The program's best showing in NCAA Tournament action was a fourth-place finish in 1954.
• Navy has won three individual national titles, by two men - Pete Blair won the 191-pound title in 1954 and `55, while Dan Muthler earned the crown in 1973 at 142 pounds.  
• In addition to winning three individual titles, 62 All-America citations have been awarded to Navy wrestlers over the years. Navy's last All-American was Mathew Miller, who earned All-America honors in 2016 after placing fifth at 184 pounds.

Television Coverage
• ESPN will provide wall-to-wall coverage of the 2018 NCAA Wrestling Championship.  
• For the fourth consecutive year, ESPN will stream every mat, every match via the ESPN app in addition to the television programming, resulting in more than 640 matches available for fans, marking unprecedented coverage of the sport's pinnacle event.    
• ESPN will televise the round of 16 (March 15) and semifinals (March 16) in prime time, ESPN2 will broadcast the finals (March 17) in prime time and ESPNU will televise the opening round (March 15), as well as the quarterfinals (March 16) and medal round (March 17).
• ESPN3 / WatchESPN will carry individual mat feeds throughout the entire tournament allowing fans to choose which wrestlers and/or schools to follow at any time. Eight mats will be used for the first and second rounds and quarterfinals, before the competition is reduced to six mats for the semifinals, three mats for the medal round and one mat for the finals.
• Additionally, for computer users, ESPN3 / WatchESPN will once again offer multi-mat, simultaneous viewing which allows fans to watch up to four different mats at one time.  
• ESPN3's Off the Mat during the Championship Finals (March 17 at 8 p.m.) will feature some of college wrestling's most decorated athletes -- J.D. Bergman, Jim Gibbons,  Lee Kemp, and David Taylor. The former athletes turned commentators will provide viewers a unique perspective of the sport's ultimate finale, along with Kenney who will host. Billy Baldwin will also join the coverage.

ESPN Commentators / Analysts:
• For the second consecutive year, Mike Couzens will call the action at the wrestling championships, handling all the prime-time sessions, as well as Thursday's opening round. Shawn Kenney returns to the coverage and will handle the play-by-play for the Quarterfinals and Medal Round. Quint Kessenich will be the reporter on the telecasts.

Tim Johnson: The "voice of college wrestling" returns once again to ESPN's coverage, having been a part of it for more than a decade. Named the 2007 broadcaster of the year by the National Wrestling Media Association. His broadcasting and leadership roles in the sport of wrestling span more than 30 years, including being the director of wrestling for the Los Angeles Olympic Games in 1984. Inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame as the recipient of the prestigious Order of Merit award honoring a lifetime of contributions to the sport of wrestling.
Anthony Robles: Now in his seventh year as an ESPN analyst, the Arizona State graduate is a three-time All-American and a 2011 NCAA National Champion. He was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2012 and was a Medal of Courage honoree in 2012
Jim Gibbons: Gibbons is a former NCAA Wrestling Coach of the Year, three-time All-American, two-time Big Eight winner at Iowa State and later won an NCAA National Championship as the Cyclones head coach.  He was inducted in the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2003.   
Lee Kemp: Won three NCAA National Championships as a wrestler at Wisconsin and three gold medals in the World Championships. He was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 1990.
Billy Baldwin: A former standout wrestler at Binghamton University turned actor, Baldwin will be a guest analyst throughout the three days for the second straight year. He was a leader in keeping the sport in the Olympic Games having joined USA Wrestling's Committee to Preserve Olympic Wrestling.



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities