NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Wrestling to Play Host to 40th Annual Navy Classic on Saturday
» «

Wrestling to Play Host to 40th Annual Navy Classic on Saturday

Navy's Steban Cervantes won the 197-pound individual title at last year's Navy Classic.
Nov. 16, 2017

The Navy wrestling team (2-0, 0-0 EIWA) returns home to play host to the 40th annual Navy Classic on Saturday at the Wesley Brown Field House beginning at 10:00 am.  Having won the team title in 19 of the 39 years the tournament has been held, the Mids will battle 16 teams -- American, Brown, Bucknell, Campbell, The Citadel, Columbia, Delaware Valley, George Mason, Hofstra, Indiana, (RV) Kent State, Ohio, Old Dominion, Oregon State, Princeton and #22 Purdue -- for the 2017 Navy Classic crown.

There are 19 nationally-ranked wrestlers among this year's field, with at least one ranked wrestler in all 10 weight classes, including four at 197 pounds.  While there are 29 returning placewinners from last year's Navy Classic, there will be a new champion crowned in five of the 10 weight classes.  Back to defend their 2016 Navy Classic title are Kent State's Anthony Tutolo at 133 pounds, Bucknell's Tyler Smith at 141 pounds, Indiana's Bryce Martin at 165 pounds, Navy's Jadaen Bernstein (Sr / Glen Gardner, N.J.) at 174 pounds and Navy's Steban Cervantes (Sr / Poway, Calif.) at 197 pounds.

Navy is among the 14 teams who have combined to win the 39 previously wrestled Navy Classics.  The Mids last won the title in 2011, when five Navy wrestlers won individual crowns.  Among the 14 teams, 2017 competitors Purdue (2001), The Citadel (2003), Kent State (2012), Princeton (2015) and Indiana (2016) have previously won the team title.  A different team has won the tournament crown in each of the last six years.

The Midshipmen are coming off spectacular performances that saw 11 wrestlers earn a combined individual titles at the Eastern Michigan Open and Ursinus Fall Brawl a week ago.  Winners from the Eastern Michigan Open included 141-pound Nicholas Gil (Jr / Crystal Lake, Ill.), 165-pound Drew Daniels (Sr / Overland Park, Kan.), 174-pound AJ Alford (So / Beech Island, S.C.) and 184-pound Michael Coleman (Sr / Hudson, Ohio ).  In the freshman / sophomore division, 157-pound Quentin Hovis (Fr / Poway, Calif.) claimed the title.  Meanwhile, winners at the Urinus Fall Brawl included 125-pound Logan Treaster (Fr / Newton, Kan.), 133-pound Jonathan Gabriel (Fr / Bedford, Pa.), 141-pound Kyle Trybus (Fr / Elkton, Md.), 157-pound Scout Skidgel (Fr / Tulsa, Okla.), 174-pound Spencer Carey (So / Ringwood, N.J.) and 197-pound Nick Mabry (Sr / New Braunfels, Texas).

2017 Navy Classic
Date:  Saturday, Nov. 18
Venue:  Wesley Brown Field House
Participating teams:  American, Brown, Bucknell, Campbell, The Citadel, Columbia, Delaware Valley, George Mason, Hofstra, Indiana, Kent State, Navy, Ohio, Old Dominion, Oregon State, Princeton and Purdue
Tickets:  $10 adults, $5 students (18 years and under)
Live Scoring: FloArena will be providing live scoring

Projected session times:
10:00 am - preliminary rounds
2:30 pm - semifinals
5:00 pm - finals

A couple of notes for traveling fans ...
Parking:  Vehicle access to the Naval Academy is limited to those with a Department of Defense identification card.  It is suggested that fans park at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium ($5 per vehicle) and ride the FREE shuttle bus to and from the tournament.  Shuttle bus service will begin at 9:30 am and run through the tournament.  Note that a government issued identification card must be carried and presented by visitors to the USNA prior to being allowed onto The Yard.

Traffic Notice:  The City of Annapolis will host the Annapolis Running Classic ½ Marathon and 10K.  The race will depart Navy-Marine Corps Stadium at 7:00 am, proceed down Rowe Blvd, down Main Street, past City Dock, turn left at USNA Gate 1 and proceed up King George St, turn right on Rt 450, past Gate 8 and across the Naval Academy Bridge.  After running up past Rt 50, the race will return down Rt 450, across the bridge, past Gate 8, down King George St to College Ave, back up to Rt 450, to Taylor Ave, ending at the stadium.

Due to road closures in support of the race, the following areas will be secured during the times listed below:
•  Gate 1 closed to in and outbound vehicle traffic from 7:00 - 7:50 am
•  King George Street outside of the Academy will be closed to vehicle traffic from 7:00 - 10:30 am effectively securing vehicle access to Gate 3 (which is normally not open on Saturdays).
•  Route 450 will be reduced to one lane of traffic from 7:00 - 10:30 am.  Route 450 will be closed from Taylor Avenue to King George Street.  Police will control traffic to allow both inbound and outbound traffic at Gate 8 by MD Route 450 North of the Academy.
•  Gates 1, 3 & 8 will remain open for pedestrian access throughout the event.

Navy Classic Competitors Among the Rankings (Intermat)
125:  #15 Luke Welch, Purdue
133:  #16 Caleb Richardson, Old Dominion; #19 Josh Terao, American; #20 Cameron Kelly, Ohio
141:  #10 Tyler Smith, Bucknell; #17 Jack Hathaway, Oregon State
149:  #4 Matthew Kolodzik, Princeton
157:  #19 Larry Early, Old Dominion
165:  #15 Jonathan Schleifer, Princeton
174:  #7 Jadaen Bernstein, Navy; #19 Tyrel White, Columbia
184:  #13 Michael Coleman, Navy
197:  #13 Christian Brunner, Purdue; #15 Corey Griego, Oregon State; #17 Steban Cervantes, Navy; #20 Jeric Kasunic, American
285:  #10 Mike Hughes, Hofstra; #17 Garrett Ryan, Columbia; #19 Brett Dempsey, American

Returning 2016 Navy Classic Placewinners
    3rd Elijah Oliver, Indiana
    6th Patrick Kearney, The Citadel

    1st Anthony Tutolo, Kent State
    2nd Cameron Kelly, Ohio
    3rd Garrett Pepple, Indiana

    1st Tyler Smith, Bucknell
    3rd Nicholas Gil, Navy
    6th Tejon Anthony, George Mason

    2nd John Kenyon, Navy
    3rd Ty Buckiso, The Citadel
    4th Timothy Rooney, Kent State (141)

    2nd Casey Sparkman, Kent State
    6th Ben Heyob, Kent State

    1st Bryce Martin, Indiana
    2nd Quentin Perez, Campbell
    5th Christian LaBrie, Brown
    6th Isaac Bast, Kent State

    1st Jadaen Bernstein, Navy
    3rd Devin Skatzka, Indiana
    4th Jon Viruet, Bucknell (165)

    6th Garrett Hoffman, Bucknell (197)

    1st Steban Cervantes, Navy
    2nd Drew Phipps, Bucknell (184)
    4th Stephen Suglio, Kent State
    5th Jakob Hinz, Indiana
    6th Sawyer Root, The Citadel

    3rd Zack Parker, Ohio
    4th Fletcher Miller, Indiana
    6th Devin Nye, Kent State
(#) - weight wrestling at in the 2017 Navy Classic

### Go Navy ###



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities