NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Patriot League Womens Lacrosse Preseason Honors Announced
» «

Patriot League Women’s Lacrosse Preseason Honors Announced

Feb. 6, 2018

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. – Head Coach Cindy Timchal and the Navy women’s lacrosse team were the unanimous prediction to finish atop the Patriot League when preseason honors were announced during the Patriot League Network’s (PLN) Preseason Women’s Lacrosse Show on Tuesday afternoon.

The Mids garnered all 18 possible first-place votes and the maximum 162 points, after winning their fifth Patriot League Championship and becoming the first League team to advance to an NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Final Four, last season. Loyola (Md.) finished with 146 points and the remaining two first-place votes. Lehigh’s 124 points was good for third in the preseason poll, while Boston Univ. was fourth, earning 120 points. Lafayette claimed the fifth-spot with 86 points. Bucknell (78), Colgate (64), Army West Point (60), Holy Cross (38) and American (17) round out the preseason poll order.

Navy senior midfielder Jenna Collins (Clarksville, Md.) – a two-time Patriot League Midfielder of the Year and three-time first-team All-League honoree – captured Preseason Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year honors. Collins scored 72 goals and dished out 42 assists for 114 points in 23 games last season to lead the Mids’ tournament run. Loyola’s junior defender Kristen Yanchoris – a two-time All-League selection – was voted the Preseason Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year.

Collins and Yanchoris highlight the 13-member 2018 preseason All-League squad. Each honoree was an All-Patriot League selection following the 2017 season.

The Greyhounds led the League with four selections, while Collins was one of three Mids on the roster. She was joined by 2017 Patriot League Rookie of the Year sophomore attacker Kelly Larkin (Alexandria, Va.) and senior defender Blake Smith (Sykesville, Md.).

The voting for the preseason poll, major awards and All-Patriot League Team was conducted by women's lacrosse head coaches and sports information directors, who were not permitted to vote for their own team or student-athletes.

Patriot League Women’s Lacrosse Preseason Poll
1. Navy, 162 points (18 first-place votes)
2. Loyola (Md.), 146 (2)
3. Lehigh, 124
4. Boston Univ., 120
5. Lafayette, 86
6. Bucknell, 78
7. Colgate, 64
8. Army West Point, 60
9. Holy Cross, 38
10. American, 17

Patriot League Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Jenna Collins, Navy, Sr., M
Patriot League Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Kristen Yanchoris, Loyola (Md.), Jr., D

Women’s Lacrosse Preseason All-Patriot League Team *
Attack: Kelly Larkin, Navy, So.
Attack: Hannah Powers, Loyola (Md.), Jr.
Attack: Kailey Conry, Boston Univ., So.
Attack: Jane Kirby, Lafayette, Jr.
Midfield: Jenna Collins, Navy, Sr.
Midfield: Haley O’Hanlon, Colgate, Sr.
Midfield: Taylor VanThof, Loyola (Md.), Jr.
Midfield: Julianne D’Orazio, Lehigh, GS
Defense: Kiersten Spencer, Army West Point, Sr.
Defense: Blake Smith, Navy, Sr.
Defense: Kierstyn Voiro, Lehigh, Sr.
Defense: Kristen Yanchoris, Loyola (Md.), Jr.
Goalkeeper: Kady Glynn, Loyola (Md.), Jr.

* – 13 members on the Preseason All-Patriot League Women’s Lacrosse Team due to a tie in the voting



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities