NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - DePompeo Named a Tewaaraton Award Nominee
» «

DePompeo Named a Tewaaraton Award Nominee

Jasmine DePompeo

April 26, 2013

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Navy senior attacker Jasmine DePompeo (Sayville, N.Y.) has become the first Navy women's lacrosse player to be named to the Tewaaraton Award nominee list, presented by Panama Jack, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced Friday.

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced 25 men and 25 women as nominees, from which the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award 10 finalists (5 women, 5 men) will be selected and honored May 30, 2013, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The women's award nominees include players from 16 schools and representatives from 13 of the current Top 20 teams in the April 22 IWLCA Division I Poll. DePompeo is the only Patriot League women's lacrosse player on the list.

DePompeo recently earned a third-straight Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year award and a third-straight selection to the All-Patriot League First Team. DePompeo leads the country in total points (118) and has tallied 55 goals and 63 assists.

DePompeo is also the NCAA's active leader in career points (327) and career assists (159).

She is the Navy and Patriot League leader in career points and career assists and single-season assists. She is also the Navy single-season leader in points scored.

"We congratulate these 50 elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year's finalists next month."

Women's nominees are as follows:

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison - Sr., A
Alex Aust, Maryland - Sr., A
Becca Block, Syracuse - Sr., D
Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina - Sr., M
Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook - Sr., M
Kitty Cullen, Florida - Sr., A
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Jr., A
Brittany Dashiell, Florida - Sr., M
Jasmine DePompeo, Navy - Sr., A
Danielle Etrasco, Boston University - Sr., A
Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern - Sr., A
Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Soph., M
Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Soph., A
Maggie McCormick, Penn State - Soph., A
Mikey Meagher, Florida - Sr., GK
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Jr., A
Marlee Paton, Loyola - Jr., M
Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Soph., M
Iliana Sanza, Maryland - Sr., D
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland - Sr., M
Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Soph., D
Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown - Soph., A
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern - Sr., M
Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse - Sr., A
Taylor Virden, Duke - Jr., D

Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced May 9 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men's and women's watch lists were announced Feb. 22, with additions made March 14 and April 11, and were ultimately comprised of 97 men's players and 62 women's players. Two of the men's nominees were added in this round - Eric Law (Denver) and Dillon Ward (Bellarmine). The selection committees are comprised of 12 men's and 10 women's current and former coaches.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse players in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy - the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora - and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities