NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - King to Play In IWLCA Senior All-Star Game
» «

King to Play In IWLCA Senior All-Star Game

Kierstin King

June 4, 2012

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - The Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) recently announced that Navy defender Kierstin King (Upperco, Md.) was selected to play in the annual IWLCA Senior All-Star Game. The 2012 North-South game will take place at the United Sports Training Center in Downington, Pa. on June 16.

King, the 2012 Navy team captain, earned her third career all-league accolade this season when she was named to the All-Patriot League First Team. King led Navy with 36 ground balls and 21 caused turnovers and graduating as the school's all-time leader in ground balls (153) and games started (72).

King was the on-field leader of a defensive unit that held a goals-against average of 8.29, the best in program history. Navy also ranked sixth in the country in scoring defense this season.

Navy advanced to a third straight NCAA Tournament in 2012 after winning a third consecutive Patriot League Championship. Navy posted an 18-3 record and was undefeated (6-0) in Patriot League play to capture its first outright regular season title.

King is the third Midshipman to be selected to the senior all-star game, joining previous team captains Amanda Towey '08 and Caitlin Mandrin Hill '11.

King, a recent Naval Academy graduate and newly commissioned officer in the United States Navy, will be one of 18 players on the all-star game's South Squad.

2012 IWLCA Senior All-Star Game Rosters
North Squad
Alyson Adams, Penn State, M
Gabby Capuzzi, Ohio State, M
Dana Cahill, Penn State, GK
Brittany Carlin, Boston University, D
Cacki Helmer, Cornell, D
Sarah Holden, Syracuse, M
Ali Houlis, Massachusetts, D
Kate Keagins, New Hampshire, M
Alyssa Kildare, Johns Hopkins, D
Danielle Mascera, Rutgers, A
Shannon McHugh, Cornell, M
Courtney Miller, Colgate, M
Jesse O'Donnell, Massachusetts, A
Jordy Shoemaker, Notre Dame, MD
Janelle Stegeland, Syracuse, D
Megan Sullivan, Notre Dame, MD
Leigh Ann Torcivia, Lehigh, MD
Liz Walker, Duquesne, GK

South Squad
Sarah Appelt, Towson, A
Kelly Barnes, Georgetown, D
Cally Chakrian, James Madison, D
Kristen Coleman, Georgetown, A
Beth Ellis, North Carolina, D
Charlie Finnigan, Virginia, A
Kellye Gallagher, Loyola, D
Julie Gardner, Virginia, M
Ana Heneberry, Loyola, D
Kierstin King, Navy, D
Becky Lynch, North Carolina, A
Stephanie Markunas, Temple, M
Caitlin McHugh, James Madison, M
Hilary Quinn, George Washington, D
Megan Seidman, George Washington, A
Kerry Stoothoff, Loyola, GK
Mary Teeters, Towson, GK
Laura Zimmerman, North Carolina, M



Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities