NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy Women's Lacrosse Announces Incoming Recruiting Class
» «

Navy Women's Lacrosse Announces Incoming Recruiting Class

Head coach Cindy Timchal

July 3, 2012

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - Head coach Cindy Timchal has announced the Navy women's lacrosse program's incoming Class of 2016. The freshman class consists of nine student-athletes from five states. The incoming class went through induction ceremonies last week and is currently at the Naval Academy for plebe summer.

Three of the incoming players, midfielder Miranda Beal (Colorado Springs, Colo./Air Academy), defender Lizzy Rullan (East Setauket, N.Y./Ward Mellville) and attacker Kelsey O'Brien (Massapequa, N.Y./Massapequa) earned US Lacrosse High School First-Team All-America honors in 2012.

Additionally, Rullan, O'Brien and attacker Katie Gallagher (Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright) have all earned US Lacrosse Academic All-America accolades.

Beal and goalie Cassidy Chaney (Englewood, Colo./Cherry Creek) are Navy's first two recruits from the state of Colorado and are former club teammates. Beal's Air Academy High School team won the 2009 and 2012 state titles while Chaney's Cherry Creek squad won the state crown in Colorado in 2010 and 2011.

Gallagher is a former high school teammate of rising Navy sophomore Jordan Snyder (Bel Air, Md.) at C. Milton Wright, midfielder Molly Doyle (Ivyland, Pa.) is a former teammate of rising sophomore Lindsay Rheiner (Wycombe, Pa.) at Council Rock North and attacker Codi Mullen (Wading River, N.Y.) hails from the same high school, Shoreham-Wading River, as rising senior Michelle Verbeeck (Wading River, N.Y.).

Navy (18-3, 6-0 PL) won a third straight Patriot League title in 2012 and advanced to a third consecutive NCAA Tournament. The Mids finished the season ranked No. 19 in the deBeer Media Poll.

Navy's Class of 2016
Name 			Pos.	Hometown/High School
Miranda Beal		M	Colorado Springs, Colo./Air Academy
Cassidy Chaney  	G	Englewood, Colo./Cherry Creek
Katie Gallagher  	A	Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright
Molly McNamara  	M	Wellesley, Mass./Wellesley
Codi Mullen		A	Wading River, N.Y./Shoreham-Wading River
Cara Pastrana		A	Annapolis, Md./Annapolis Area Christian
Lizzy Rullan		D	East Setauket, N.Y./Ward Melville
Kelsey O'Brien  	A	Massapequa, N.Y./Massapequa
Molly Doyle 		M	Ivyland, Pa./Council Rock North



The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities