NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Seven Mids Garner All-Patriot League Crew Accolades
» «

Seven Mids Garner All-Patriot League Crew Accolades

May 14, 2018

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. – After a strong regular season and standout performance at the Patriot League Championship saw the Navy women’s rowing program win the league title for the fourth straight year, seven individuals from the team were recognized on Monday with spots on the 2018 All-Patriot League team.  

Announced by the league office on the All-Patriot League First Team were Midshipmen: Megan Hanson (Jr., Woody Creek, Colo.), Mady Malczynski (Jr., Fort Worth, Texas), Alexandria Vallancey-Martinson (Fr., Corvallis, Ore.) and coxswain Bethany Spangler (So., Chesapeake, Va.). The trio of Raye Brackett (So., Twin Falls, Idaho), Maeve Broeg (Sr., Williamsburg, Iowa) and Caroline Kelly (So., Charlotte, N.C.) garnered positions on the second team.

All seven of the all-league honorees are members of the Mids’ victorious Patriot League first varsity eight crew that clinched the league championship with a 4.387-second victory over Boston University on Friday. Coming into the final race of the championship as one of an assortment of teams atop the cluttered standings, Navy’s V8 crew knew it needed a strong result to clinch the team title. The Mids in the boat responded with a dominant time of 6:16.679 to cruise to the victory.

By winning the varsity eight race, Navy also claimed the 2018 Patriot League Boat of the Year distinction for the fourth time, while the Mids head coach Joe Schlosberg was named 2018 Patriot League Coach of the Year for the first time in his career at Navy.



During the regular season, Navy’s V8 boat went 3-1 with head-to-head victories over Cornell, Delaware and St. Joseph’s, in addition to winning the Cooper Sprints title back in March. The team also prepared for the league championship with top-level competition at the Doc Hosea and Clemson Invitationals.

Amongst Monday’s honorees Broeg is the lone multiple All-Patriot League recipient as she was named to all-league in 2016 as member of the second team. The senior is one of three athletes named on Monday that are two-time honorees as she joins Lehigh’s Julianna Malachin and Boston U.’s Kitty Tolman.

As a result of their league title, the Mids’ season will continue in two weeks at the 2018 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships. The national meet will be held in Sarasota, Fla. at Nathan Benderson Park on May 25-27. The championship field is composed of 22 teams with 11 teams earning their way to the meet via automatic bids and the remaining 11 slots being filled by at-large selections.

This will be the Mids’ fifth trip to the NCAA Championships as the program previously qualified for and competed at the national regatta in 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2017.

2018 Patriot League Women’s Rowing Major Awards
Patriot League Coach of the Year: Joe Schlosberg, Navy
Patriot League Boat of the Year: Navy Varsity Eight

2018 All-Patriot League Women’s Rowing Teams

First Team
Shannon McGurty, Boston University, So.
Kitty Tolman, Boston University, Sr.
Olivia Chase, Bucknell, So.
Chloe Schalit, Georgetown, So.
Abbey Diener, MIT, Sr.
Megan Hanson, Navy, Jr.
Mady Malczynski, Navy, Jr.
Bethany Spangler, Navy, So. (Coxswain)
Alexandria Vallancey-Martinson, Navy, Fr.

Second Team
Shannon Gallup, Boston University, Fr.
Erin Gannon, Boston University, Sr. (Coxswain)
Cecilia Manganello, Bucknell, Fr.
Grace Calavan, Georgetown, So.
Julianna Malachin, Lehigh, Sr.
Premila Rowles, MIT, So.
Raye Brackett, Navy, So.
Maeve Broeg, Navy, Sr.
Caroline Kelly, Navy, So.


(The All-League teams are based on the teams’ finishes in the Varsity Eight race at the Patriot League Rowing Championship.)

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities