NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Four Midshipman Selected to All-Patriot League Rowing Teams
» «

Four Midshipman Selected to All-Patriot League Rowing Teams

Navy's V8 in action at the Patriot League Championship
May 17, 2017

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. – After a strong regular season and excellent performance at the Patriot League Championship, that saw the Navy women’s rowing program win the 2017 league champions, the team was recognized on Wednesday with four individuals earning All-Patriot League honors. Announced by the league office, Julia Arthur (Sr., Arlington, Va.) and Ashlyn Dawson (Fr., Annapolis, Md.) represent the Mids on the All-Patriot League First Team, while Grace Lawrence (Fr., Haverford, Pa.) and coxswain Molly McAleer (Jr., Kents Hill, Maine) garnered spots on the second team.

All members of the Mids’ first varsity eight crew, Navy’s V8 boat went 4-2 in the regular season in head-to-head racing, as well as challenged itself versus top-flight national fields at the Doc Hosea and Clemson Invitationals. All of that hard work in the regular season paid off last Friday, May 12 as Navy earned its third straight Patriot League Championship.

Racing in first varsity eight, second varsity eight and first varsity four competitions, the Mids breezed to victories with its lower two boats to build up a five-point lead before closing strong and finishing in second place in the first varsity eight race. At the completion of the championship, Navy was atop the podium with a 51-46 victory over Boston.

Amongst the quartet, Arthur is now a two-time All-Patriot League First Team honoree, while Dawson, Lawrence and McAleer are listed with the league’s best for the first time in their individual careers.

As a result of their league title, the Mids’ season will continue in two weeks at the 2017 NCAA Division I Rowing Championships. The national meet will be held in West Windsor, N.J. at Mercer Lake on May 26-28. The championship field is composed of 22 teams with 11 teams earning their way to the meet via automatic bids and the remaining 11 slots being filled by at-large selections.



2017 All-Patriot League Rowing Awards

Patriot League Coach of the Year: Holly Metcalf, MIT
Patriot League Boat of the Year: Boston University Varsity Eight

First Team
Coxswain: Marlaina Miller, Boston U., Sr.
Emily Huber, Boston U., Sr.
Annalise Routenberg, Boston U., Sr.
Kitty Tolman, Boston U., Jr.
Monica Firmani, Georgetown, So.
Liz Gagliardi, Lehigh So.
Larkin Sayre, MIT, Sr.
Julia Arthur, Navy, Sr.
Ashlyn Dawson, Navy, Fr.

Second Team
Laura Anhalt, Boston U., Jr.
Kristina Damm, Boston U., Sr.
Emma Quirk, Boston U., So.
Natalie Minella, Bucknell, Fr.
Sophie Kershaw, Georgetown, Jr.
Jules Malachin, Lehigh, Jr.
Savannah Inglin, MIT, Fr.
Coxswain: Molly McAleer, Navy, Jr.
Grace Lawrence, Navy, Fr.

(The All-League teams are based on the teams’ finishes in the Varsity Eight race at the Patriot League Rowing Championship.)




The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities