NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Carin Gabarra Recognized by United Soccer Coaches Organization
» «

Carin Gabarra Recognized by United Soccer Coaches Organization

Dec. 5, 2017

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The United Soccer Coaches organization recently announced its annual major award winners and Navy womens soccer head coach Carin Gabarra was amongst the select few. The 2017 Patriot League Coach of the Year, Gabarra was chosen for the Womens Soccer Award of Excellence for her accomplishments on and off the field throughout her storied career.

Sponsored by the Women and Girls in Soccer (WAGS), the Women's Soccer Award of Excellence was established in 1999 to recognize those who have brought honor and distinction to women's soccer. Gabarra will join the likes of Michelle Akers, April Heinrichs, Kristine Lilly, Tony DiCicco and Anson Dorrance as elite members of the women’s soccer community, who have previously been bestowed this accolade.

Gabarra will be honored with her award at the Coaches of Women’s Soccer Breakfast on January 20 as part of the 2018 United Soccer Coaches Convention in Philadelphia.

In 2017, the Navy women’s soccer team went 16-4-1 overall with an 8-0-1 mark in Patriot League play. The Mids won the regular season title and earned the top seed in the postseason tournament where they were victorious in the semifinals before falling in the finals to Bucknell, 3-2. Under Gabarra’s guidance, three Mids earned major playing awards from the Patriot League this fall, including Ash Fairow (Offensive Player of the Year), Meghan Hegarty (Midfielder of the Year) and Sydney Fortson (Goalkeeper of the Year). In addition to the major award winners, Liza Harris (1st Tm), Alex Jackson (2nd Tm) and Clare MacAdam (2nd Tm) all garnered All-Patriot League nods. For their success in the classroom, both Hegarty and Fortson were named to CoSIDA Academic All-District and All-Academic Patriot League teams, respectively.



Women's Soccer Award of Excellence (All-time Honorees)

2017 - Carin Gabarra, United States Naval Academy
2016 - Marcia McDermott, Army West Point

2015 - Janet Rayfield, University of Illinois
2014 - Denise Dallamora, Brandeis University
2013 - Kristine Lilly, United States Women's National Team
2012 - Lesle Gallimore, University of Washington
2011 - Sue Ryan, Stony Brook University
2010 - John Daly, College of William and Mary
2009 - Louise Waxler, Kicks Against Breast Cancer
2008 - Tony DiCicco, Boston Breakers
2007 - Charlotte Moran, Eastern Pennsylvania Youth Soccer Association
2006 - Anson Dorrance, University of North Carolina
2005 - Lynn Berling-Manuel, CEO and Publisher of Soccer America
2004 - Colleen Hacker, Pacific Lutheran University
2003 - Adele Dolansky, Washington Area Girls Soccer League
2002 - Michelle Morgan, Amherst College
2001 - Lauren Gregg, WUSA Vice President of Player Personnel and Technical Director
2000 - Michelle Akers, U.S. Women’s National Team, FIFA Female Player of the Century
1999 - April Heinrichs, U.S. Women’s National Team

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities