NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy Leads the Way on All-League Swimming & Diving Teams
» «

Navy Leads the Way on All-League Swimming & Diving Teams

Bradley Buchter eaned the men's diver-of-the-year award
Feb. 22, 2017

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. –– The Navy swimming and diving programs accounted for 28 All-Patriot League recipients on the teams that were announced Wednesday by the league office. The Mids, which swept the league titles for the sixth year in a row, had 10 more all-league honorees than the next-highest total by a team (18, Army West Point).

Both the first and second teams consist of 18 members, with more added if there are any ties. All individual event champions automatically earn first-team recognition, with the remaining first-team positions filled based upon individual event points scored during the championship. All individual event second-place swimmers and divers not already appearing on the first team are then placed onto the second team. The second team also is rounded out by the next highest individual event point tallies.

The Navy women’s squad, which earned its seventh title in the last eight years and a league-best 16th title in 26 seasons, placed eight onto the all-league first team and had 14 recipients in all. League swimmer-of-the-year Lauren Barber (So., New Wilmington, Pa.) headlined the honorees with her victories in the 200 individual medley and both breaststroke events. Kaitlyn O’Reilly (Jr., Farmington, Minn.) totaled the second-most points in the league with her victory in the 200 backstroke and second-place showings in both individual medley finals. Delaney Walz (Fr., Mays Landing, N.J.) joined Barber in earning a major individual award as her victories in both butterfly events gave her the rookie-of-the-year laurel.

Additional first-team honorees from Navy who won an individual event were Charlotte Meyer (Sr., Bethesda, Md.), 200 and 500 freestyle, and Kenzie Margroum (Sr., Fort Thomas, Ky.), 100 freestyle. Hanna Gillcrist (Sr., Burlington, Ky.), Casey Lawson (So., Spring Lake Heights, N.J.) and Olivia Morrell (Sr., Albuquerque, N.M.) also received first-team laurels for their respective point totals.



Gillcrist is one of three swimmers and divers in the league’s Class of 2017 to earn all-league honors in each of her four seasons and one of two to have totaled four first-team accolades.

Navy’s men’s team, winners of the league title in all 14 of the seasons in which it has competed at the league meet, also placed 14 members of its program onto one of the all-league squads, with four of the five first-team recipients earning the nod with an event victory. Diver Bradley Buchter (Fr., Hickory, N.C.) was the lone Mid to win multiple events as he swept both boards to also be tabbed as the diver of the meet. Joseph Jaime (Jr., San Antonio, Texas) won the 200 freestyle and placed second in the 100 freestyle event, Marlin Brutkiewicz (Sr., Mobile, Ala.) won the 200 breaststroke title and placed second in the 100 breaststroke final and Ryan Bailey (Sr., Youngstown, Ohio) won the 100 butterfly final. The fifth Mid to garner first-team all-league accolades was Vince Everman (So., Philadelphia, Pa.).

Women’s First Team (alphabetical order by school)
Kelly Hamilton, Army West Point; Bridget Ritter, Army West Point; Erin Nabney, Boston U.; Kyra Tatlow, Boston U.; Julianna Foss, Bucknell; Emma Hadley, Bucknell; Abigail Rosenberg, Bucknell; Kelly Carroll, Lehigh; Payton Miles, Lehigh; Meghan Thompson, Lehigh; Lauren Barber, Navy; Hanna Gillcrist, Navy; Casey Lawson, Navy; Kenzie Margroum, Navy; Olivia Morrell, Navy; Charlotte Meyer, Navy; Kaitlyn O’Reilly, Navy; Delaney Walz, Navy

Women’s Second Team
Fiona Caulfield, American; Jess Burkett, Army West Point; Serica Hallstead, Army West Point; Jo Marsh, Army West Point; Monica Sowinski, Army West Point; Grace Anderson, Boston U.; Sarah Hargrave, Boston U.; Kalli Roebelen, Boston U.; Carly Soares, Boston U.; Lizzie Tillo, Boston U.; Julie Byrne, Bucknell; Sydney Bornstein, Lehigh; Courtney Ferreira, Lehigh; Julianne Koch, Lehigh; Kaitlyn Ruffing, Lehigh; Lauren Greenberg, Navy; Madison Keiser, Navy; Elyse MacIsaac, Navy; Maddie Runge, Navy; Jenny Smith, Navy; Ally Warnimont, Navy

Men’s First Team
Tom Ottman, Army West Point; Brandon McCredie, Army West Point; Peter Mikheyev, Army West Point; Sean Regan, Army West Point; Evin Rude, Army West Point; Jay Yang, Army West Point; Garrett Chin, Boston U.; Trevor Winans, Boston U.; Louis Behnen, Bucknell; Chris Devlin, Bucknell; Jacob Moyar, Lehigh; Justin White, Lehigh; Ben Cono, Loyola; Ryan Bailey, Navy; Marlin Brutkiewicz, Navy; Bradley Buchter, Navy; Vince Everman, Navy; Joseph Jaime, Navy

Men’s Second-Team
Joe Daniels, Army West Point; Hudson Kay, Army West Point; Devin McCall, Army West Point; Matt McPheters, Army West Point; Jason Rodriguez, Army West Point; Josh Sembrano, Army West Point; Daniel Andronov, Boston U.; Cameron Schoffstall, Boston U.; Jack Robinson, Bucknell; Nate Belch, Navy; Shane Condon, Navy; Jac Cortright, Navy; Ethan King, Navy; Brayden Lauffer, Navy; Nash Nickerson, Navy; Zach Piedt, Navy; Michael Velazquez, Navy; James Wilson, Navy

The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities