NAVYSPORTS.COM - The Official Web Site of Naval Academy Varsity Athletics - Navy Swimmers Garner Mid-Major All-America Honors
» «

Navy Swimmers Garner Mid-Major All-America Honors

Laura Gorinski

April 26, 2012

SOMERS, Wis. -- Laura Gorinski (Jr., Greensburg, Pa.) led the list of 17 members of the Navy swimming programs who garnered Mid-Major All-America honors from Gorinski received first-team accolades from the organization while the additional 16 Mids who were recognized earned honorable mention laurels.

The mid-major designation applies to swimmers whose teams compete in the following affiliations: America East Conference, Atlantic 10 Conference, Colonial Athletic Association, Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association, Horizon League, Ivy League, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Mid-American Conference, Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, Missouri Valley Conference, Patriot League, Sun Belt, Summit League and Western Athletic Conference.

First-team honors were bestowed upon those swimmers who competed at the 2012 NCAA Championship, with those swimmers who posted an NCAA `B' cut qualifying time but did not advance to the national championship receiving the honorable mention nod.

Gorinski, the 2012 Patriot League Women's Swimmer of the Year and the 2011 and `12 league scholar-athlete of the year for her sport, competed in both breaststroke events and the 200 individual medley event at this year's national championship. Earning honorable mention honors from the Navy women's team were Kellie Darmody (Jr., Charlotte, N.C.), Toni Paruso (Jr., Savannah, Ga.), Ange Sawick (Fr., Abingdon, Pa.) and Rheanna Vaughn (So., Aliso Viejo, Calif.).

The 12 honorable mention accolades earned by members of the Navy men's swimming team is the most of any men's program in the country. Those Mids garnering the laurel were Mac Anthony (Sr., Allentown, Pa.), Ben Bondurant (Jr., Atlanta, Ga.), Hugh Davison (So., Towson, Md.), Steve Dukleth (Sr., Glen Ellyn, Ill.), Luke Hoffer (So., Chapel Hill, N.C.), Zach Ingold (So., Hornell, N.Y.), Mark Meyer (Sr., Bethesda, Md.), Riley Mita (Fr., Stevenson Ranch, Calif.), Sean Murphy (So., Hudson, Ohio), Robbie Parker (Jr., Vienna, Va.), Gage Trotter (So., Conroe, Texas) and Justin Vagts (Jr., Crofton, Md.).



The lone additional Patriot League program to have a swimmer recognized was Bucknell, which had one men's swimmer earn honorable mention accolades.
The American Army Navy Ask the AD Fund For Athletic Excellence Blue and Gold Game Promotion Patriot League Network Patriot League Veterans Classic 2017 Scout Day
Patriot League The American Athletic Conference Corporate SPonsorship Opportunities